Product SiteDocumentation Site

6.4. 前置:aptitudesynaptic

APT 是 C++ 寫成程式,甚原始碼在 libapt-pkg 共享程式庫內。以此共享程式庫建立讀者介面 (前置),因為很容易再利用在程式庫內的原始碼。過去 apt-get 祗當做 libapt-pkg 的測試前置,但此事實也漸趨模糊。

6.4.1. aptitude

aptitude 是互動程式,可用於終端機的半圖形模式可瀏覽已安裝與可得套件,搜尋所有可用資訊,並選擇安裝或移除的套件。此程式專為管理者而設計,預設的對象比 apt-get 的對象更聰慧,且其介面更容易理解。
The aptitude 套件管理者

圖形 6.1. The aptitude 套件管理者

開始的時候,aptitude 依狀態顯示所有的套件 (已安裝、未安裝、或已安裝在不在鏡射站 — 其他的區塊顯示工作、虛擬套件、與最近才出現在鏡射站的新增套件)。還有其他的檢視方法,提供主題式瀏覽。所有的情況下,aptitude 在螢幕顯示各主題與套件的清單。以樹狀組織主題,可以用 Enter[] 按鍵展開與收起枝葉。+ 應用於標示可安裝的套件,- 標示可移除的套件與 _ 標示可清除的套件 (這些按鍵也可用遟主題,對應的行動適用於主題的所有套件)。u 用於更新可用套件清單與 Shift+u 準備全系統的更新。g 切換摘要檢視要求的改變 (並再次鍵入 g 納入此等改變),與 q 離開現在的檢視。若您在初始的檢視,將關閉 aptitude
鍵入 / 及搜尋的鍵詞,就能搜尋套件。鍵詞對應至套件的名稱,也可應用於描述內容 (若前置 ~d、區塊 (前置 ~s) 或文件內的其他字詞。同樣的鍵詞可以篩選顯示套件的清單:鍵入 l 鍵 (如同在 limit 之內) 與其他鍵詞。
管理 Debian 套件的 “自動旗標” (見 節 6.2.7, “自動追蹤已安裝的套件”),對 aptitude 而言是小事一椿。可以用 Shift+m 瀏覽已安裝並標示為自動的套件或以 m 鍵移除標示。在套件清單內,“自動套件” 標示為 “A”。此功能也可簡單看到機器內正在使用的套件,不必看那些程式庫與相依性繁瑣的細節。相關的鍵詞可以與 l (啟動篩選模式) 一起使用的是 ~i!~M。它的作用是祗看已安裝的套件 (~i) 不是被標示為自動(!~M) 的套件。

6.4.1.1. 管理推薦、建議與工作

aptitude 另個有趣的功能是尊重套件間的建議,但給使用以個案方式選擇不安裝的自由。例如,gnome 套件建議 gdebi (及其他選擇)。選擇前者安裝時,後者也被選取 (若未安裝在系統內則標記為自動)。鍵入 g 將使其更明顯:gdebi 顯示在滿足相依性的自動安裝套件清單裡的待決摘要畫面。然而,在確認前可以不選擇,而自行決定不要安裝。
此推薦追蹤功能不適用於更新。例如,若 gnome 新版建議一個不包括稍前版本的套件,就不會安裝它。然而,還是列在螢幕,管理者仍可點選並安裝它。
同時把套件間的建議列入考量,但調整入特別的情況。例如,自從 gnome 建議 dia-gnome,後者顯示在螢幕的待決區 (其他套件的建議區)。這樣子,就能看見且管理者可以決定是否把它們列入考量。畢竟祗是建議而不是相依或提議,套件仍不會被列入自動 — 需要讀者的人工介入 (因此,套件不會被標示為自動)。
在同樣的精神下,記得 aptitude 以智慧的手法使用工作的概念。在螢幕的套件清單中顯示工作,可以安裝或移除選定的完整工作,或瀏覽包括選定較小工作的套件清單。

6.4.1.2. 較佳的解決演算法

總結本段的內容,在解決困難情境時,aptitude 的演算較 apt-get 更為複雜。需要執行一組工作且可能帶領至另個支離的系統,aptitude 評估若干可能的狀況以遞減關聯的方式呈現。然而,這些演算法不是失敗的證明。幸運的是,總有手動選擇執行的可能。現在的選擇帶領至矛盾的地方時,螢幕的上方就指出若干 “破碎” 的套件 (and you can directly navigate to those packages by pressing b)。就可能以人工方式建立解決此問題的方案。尤其是,可以按 Enter 鍵選取近用多個可用的版本。選定的版本可以解決問題,就勇敢不遲疑地使用其功能。破碎套件漸趨於零後,您可安全地進入待決區的摘要畫面,於使用前再次確認。

6.4.2. synaptic

synaptic 是 Debian 的套件圖形管理器,在 GTK+/GNOME 的基礎上提供清楚有效的圖形介面。它以很多的立即可用篩選器提供快速近用新增的套件、安裝套件、可升級套件、過時套件等。經由這些清單瀏覽,選定對套件的工作 (安裝、升級、移除、清除);不會立即執行此等工作,但把它們放入工作清單。單鍵按下可執行的工作,接著就可執行。
synaptic 套件管理器

圖形 6.2. synaptic 套件管理器

Product SiteDocumentation Site

6.4. Frontends: aptitude, synaptic

APT is a C++ program whose code mainly resides in the libapt-pkg shared library. Using a shared library facilitates the creation of user interfaces (front-ends), since the code contained in the library can easily be reused. Historically, apt-get was only designed as a test front-end for libapt-pkg but its success tends to obscure this fact.

6.4.1. aptitude

aptitude is an interactive program that can be used in semi-graphical mode on the console. You can browse the list of installed and available packages, look up all the available information, and select packages to install or remove. The program is designed specifically to be used by administrators, so that its default behaviors are much more intelligent than apt-get's, and its interface much easier to understand.
The aptitude package manager

Figure 6.1. The aptitude package manager


When it starts, aptitude shows a list of packages sorted by state (installed, non-installed, or installed but not available on the mirrors — other sections display tasks, virtual packages, and new packages that appeared recently on mirrors). To facilitate thematic browsing, other views are available. In all cases, aptitude displays a list combining categories and packages on the screen. Categories are organized through a tree structure, whose branches can respectively be unfolded or closed with the Enter, [ and ] keys. + should be used to mark a package for installation, - to mark it for removal and _ to purge it (note than these keys can also be used for categories, in which case the corresponding actions will be applied to all the packages of the category). u updates the lists of available packages and Shift+u prepares a global system upgrade. g switches to a summary view of the requested changes (and typing g again will apply the changes), and q quits the current view. If you are in the initial view, this will effectively close aptitude.
To search for a package, you can type / followed by a search pattern. This pattern matches the name of the package, but can also be applied to the description (if preceded by ~d), to the section (with ~s) or to other characteristics detailed in the documentation. The same patterns can filter the list of displayed packages: type the l key (as in limit) and enter the pattern.
Managing the “automatic flag” of Debian packages (see Section 6.2.7, “Tracking Automatically Installed Packages”) is a breeze with aptitude. It is possible to browse the list of installed packages and mark packages as automatic with Shift+m or to remove the mark with the m key. “Automatic packages” are tagged with an “A” in the list of packages. This feature also offers a simple way to visualize the packages in use on a machine, without all the libraries and dependencies that you don't really care about. The related pattern that can be used with l (to activate the filter mode) is ~i!~M. It specifies that you only want to see installed packages (~i) not marked as automatic (!~M).

6.4.1.1. Managing Recommendations, Suggestions and Tasks

Another interesting feature of aptitude is the fact that it respects recommendations between packages while still giving users the choice not to install them on a case by case basis. For example, the gnome package recommends gdebi (among others). When you select the former for installation, the latter will also be selected (and marked as automatic if not already installed on the system). Typing g will make it obvious: gdebi appears on the summary screen of pending actions in the list of packages installed automatically to satisfy dependencies. However, you can decide not to install it by deselecting it before confirming the operations.
Note that this recommendation tracking feature does not apply to upgrades. For instance, if a new version of gnome recommends a package that it did not recommend formerly, the package won't be marked for installation. However, it will be listed on the upgrade screen so that the administrator can still select it for installation.
Suggestions between packages are also taken into account, but in a manner adapted to their specific status. For example, since gnome suggests dia-gnome, the latter will be displayed on the summary screen of pending actions (in the section of packages suggested by other packages). This way, it is visible and the administrator can decide whether to take the suggestion into account or not. Since it is only a suggestion and not a dependency or a recommendation, the package will not be selected automatically — its selection requires a manual intervention from the user (thus, the package will not be marked as automatic).
In the same spirit, remember that aptitude makes intelligent use of the concept of task. Since tasks are displayed as categories in the screens of packages lists, you can either select a full task for installation or removal, or browse the list of packages included in the task to select a smaller subset.

6.4.1.2. Better Solver Algorithms

To conclude this section, let's note that aptitude has more elaborate algorithms compared to apt-get when it comes to resolving difficult situations. When a set of actions is requested and when these combined actions would lead to an incoherent system, aptitude evaluates several possible scenarios and presents them in order of decreasing relevance. However, these algorithms are not failproof. Fortunately there is always the possibility to manually select the actions to perform. When the currently selected actions lead to contradictions, the upper part of the screen indicates a number of “broken” packages (and you can directly navigate to those packages by pressing b). It is then possible to manually build a solution for the problems found. In particular, you can get access to the different available versions by simply selecting the package with Enter. If the selection of one of these versions solves the problem, you should not hesitate to use the function. When the number of broken packages gets down to zero, you can safely go to the summary screen of pending actions for a last check before you apply them.

6.4.2. synaptic

synaptic is a graphical package manager for Debian which features a clean and efficient graphical interface based on GTK+/GNOME. Its many ready-to-use filters give fast access to newly available packages, installed packages, upgradable packages, obsolete packages and so on. If you browse through these lists, you can select the operations to be done on the packages (install, upgrade, remove, purge); these operations are not performed immediately, but put into a task list. A single click on a button then validates the operations, and they are performed in one go.
synaptic package manager

Figure 6.2. synaptic package manager