Product SiteDocumentation Site

8.9. 其他配置:时间同步、记录、共享近用…

本节列出的细目对希望精通 GNU/Linux 系统配置极有帮助。这里只列出简要的内容,详情仍需参阅文档。

8.9.1. 时区

初始安装时经由 tzdata 软件包配置时区。dpkg-reconfigure tzdata 命令以交互方式修改时区。其配置内容保存在 /etc/timezone 文件。在 /usr/share/zoneinfo 文件夹内映射的文件复制在 /etc/localtime 文件内;此文件包括使用日光节约时间的国家。
暂时变更时区,可使用 TZ 环境变量,它的优先次序在缺省的配置档之前:
$ date
Thu Feb 19 11:25:18 CET 2015
$ TZ="Pacific/Honolulu" date
Thu Feb 19 00:25:21 HST 2015

8.9.2. 时间同步

时间同步,在单机时代是多余,但在网络时代却很重要。用户无权修改日期与时间,所以需要精准的时间以免混乱。尤有甚者,网络上的电脑时间同步后,有助于安排社区工作者透过网络全球串联。受到攻击时,容易依序恢复原来的运作。由多部机器收集来的统计数据,必须有同步的时间,才能发挥作用。

8.9.2.1. 给工作站

工作经常需要重新开机 (虽然只是节省能源),开机时以 NTP 同步就够了。安装 ntpdate 软件包就可以。需要更换 NTP 服务器时,再修改 /etc/default/ntpdate 文件即可。

8.9.2.2. 供服务器

服务器很少重开机,系统时间必须绝对精准。为了永久维持时间的正确性,必须安装由 ntp 软件包提供的 NPT 服务器。缺省的配置方式系与 pool.ntp.org 同步,且回应本地网络的请求。可以编辑 /etc/ntp.conf 文件改变原来的配置,NTP 服务器依照该文件的内容而变更。若有多个服务器,最好有一个本地时间服务器与公共的服务器同步,并做为本地网络其他服务器的同步的依据。

8.9.3. 轮转日志档

日志档成长的速度很快,需要典藏它。最常的做法是循环典藏:只保留最新的 X 部分。logrotate 是负责循环的程序,根据 /etc/logrotate.conf 文件内的配置,把日志档保存在 /etc/logrotate.d/ 文件夹内。管理者可以修改该等文件,修改 Debian 缺省的循环政策。logrotate(1) 手册页面描述该配置可用的选项。可以在循环的过程中,增加典藏的文件数,或把文件移至指定的文件夹而不是删除它们。也可以电子邮件方式寄到别的地方。
logrotate 程序每日运行 cron 调度的要求 (详情见 第 9.7 节 “使用 cronatd运行计划任务”)。

8.9.4. 共享管理员权限

数个管理者共同在同个服务器工作。共用同个根用户密码不是好主意,匿名引发的误用很麻烦。解决方案是使用 sudo 程序,允许用户对特定命令拥有专门的权力。在多数情况下,sudo 允许受信任的用户以根的权限运行命令。用户只需运行 sudo command 并以个人的密码通过认证。
安装的时候,sudo 软件包把完整的 root 权限授权给 sudo Unix 群组。管理者必须使用 visudo 命令授予其他权利,该命令允许用户修改 /etc/sudoers 配置档 (当然,必须启用 vi 编辑器,或在 EDITOR 环境变量指定的编辑器)。添加一列 username ALL=(ALL) ALL 就能允许该用户以 root 的授权运行命令。
还有较复杂的配置,只允许特定用户运行部分命令。详情在 sudoers(5) 手册页面。

8.9.5. 挂载点清单

/etc/fstab 文件列出所有开机自动挂载或手动挂载的移动保存设备。每个挂载点由一列文本描述,包括若干空格区隔的字段:
  • 待挂载的设备:可以是本地分区 (硬盘、CD-ROM) 或远程的文件系统 (如 NFS)。
    此字段通常以文件系统的 ID 取代 (可以用 blkid device) 前置及 UUID=。此种方式可以应付添加或移除磁盘设备名称的情况,或者以其他顺序侦测到的磁盘。
  • 挂载点:这是把设备、远程系统,或分区挂载于本地文件系统的位置。
  • 类型:这个字段定义挂载设备使用的文件系统。ext4ext3vfatntfsbtrfsxfs 等。
    知名的文件系统清单在 mount(8) 手册页面。特殊值 swap 系供交换分区使用;特殊值 auto 告诉mount 程序自动侦测文件系统 (对读卡机与 USB 磁盘机特别有用,因为它们可能使用不同的文件系统);
  • 选项:依文件系统的不同,而有多种选项,详情见 mount 手册页面。最常用的是
    • rwro,表示该设备挂载后可以读/写,或只有读取的权限。
    • noauto 开机时关闭自动挂载。
    • nofail 允许在启动时处理设备,即使该设备不存在。确认启动时,该外置磁盘机可能未插入,因为 systemd 将确认所有挂载点在启动完成前必须自动挂载。可将此与 x-systemd.device-timeout=5s 并用,告诉 systemd 不必等 5 秒以上的时间,直接进入下个作业阶段 (见 systemd.mount(5))。
    • user 授权所有的用户均可挂载此文件系统 (若无此选项,则只有根用户才有此权限)。
    • defaults 表示缺省的选项群组为:rwsuiddevexecautonouserasync,使用了 defaults 之后,还可以用 nosuid 命令、nodev 及其他类似的命令,中止 suiddev 等作用。加入 user 选项可再启用它,因为 defaults 包括 nouser
  • 备份:此字段几乎都设为 0。当它是 1 时,告诉 dump 工具将备份有数据的分区。
  • 检查顺序:最后一个字段告知系统在启动时,或其他时机,检查文件系统的完整性。若设为 0,则不检查。根文件系统的值为 1,其他固定文件系统的值为 2

例 8.5. 范例 /etc/fstab 文件

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=c964222e-6af1-4985-be04-19d7c764d0a7 / ext3 errors=remount-ro 0 1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=ee880013-0f63-4251-b5c6-b771f53bd90e none swap sw  0       0
/dev/scd0       /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0       0
/dev/fd0        /media/floppy   auto    rw,user,noauto  0       0
arrakis:/shared /shared         nfs     defaults        0       0
此例的最后一个条目对应于网络文件系统 (NFS):/shared/ 文件夹位于 arrakis 服务器挂载于本地机器的 /shared//etc/fstab 文件格式位于 fstab(5) 手册页面。

8.9.6. locateupdatedb

可以用 locate 命令找寻已知名称的文件。几乎即时送回结果,因为它搜索的数据库保存系统内所有文件的位置;此数据库由 updatedb 命令每日更新。locate 命令还有其他用途,Debian 选择 mlocate 做为其标准系统。
mlocate 很聪明,只送回该命令用户能够近用的文件,不会显示系统内其他符合条件的文件 (因为它以根权限运行 updatedb 命令)。为了提供额外的安全保护,管理者可以使用 PRUNEDPATHS 位于 /etc/updatedb.conf,排除已经索引的其他文件夹。

Product SiteDocumentation Site

8.9. Other Configurations: Time Synchronization, Logs, Sharing Access…

The many elements listed in this section are good to know for anyone who wants to master all aspects of configuration of the GNU/Linux system. They are, however, treated briefly and frequently refer to the documentation.

8.9.1. Timezone

The timezone, configured during initial installation, is a configuration item for the tzdata package. To modify it, use the dpkg-reconfigure tzdata command, which allows you to choose the timezone to be used in an interactive manner. Its configuration is stored in the /etc/timezone file. Additionally, the corresponding file in the /usr/share/zoneinfo directory is copied in /etc/localtime; this file contains the rules governing the dates where daylight saving time is active, for countries that use it.
When you need to temporarily change the timezone, use the TZ environment variable, which takes priority over the configured system default:
$ date
Wed Mar 28 15:51:19 CEST 2012
$ TZ="Pacific/Honolulu" date
Wed Mar 28 03:51:21 HST 2012

8.9.2. Time Synchronization

Time synchronization, which may seem superfluous on a computer, is very important on a network. Since users do not have permissions allowing them to modify the date and time, it is important for this information to be precise to prevent confusion. Furthermore, having all of the computers on a network synchronized allows better cross-referencing of information from logs on different machines. Thus, in the event of an attack, it is easier to reconstruct the chronological sequence of actions on the various machines involved in the compromise. Data collected on several machines for statistical purposes won't make a great deal of sense if they are not synchronized.

8.9.2.1. For Workstations

Since work stations are regularly rebooted (even if only to save energy), synchronizing them by NTP at boot is enough. To do so, simply install the ntpdate package. You can change the NTP server used if needed by modifying the /etc/default/ntpdate file.

8.9.2.2. For Servers

Servers are only rarely rebooted, and it is very important for their system time to be correct. To permanently maintain correct time, you would install a local NTP server, a service offered in the ntp package. In its default configuration, the server will synchronize with pool.ntp.org and provide time in response to requests coming from the local network. You can configure it by editing the /etc/ntp.conf file, the most significant alteration being the NTP server to which it refers. If the network has a lot of servers, it may be interesting to have one local time server which synchronizes with the public servers and is used as a time source by the other servers of the network.

8.9.3. Rotating Log Files

Log files can grow, fast, and it is necessary to archive them. The most common scheme is a rotating archive: the log file is regularly archived, and only the latest X archives are retained. logrotate, the program responsible for these rotations, follows directives given in the /etc/logrotate.conf file and all of the files in the /etc/logrotate.d/ directory. The administrator may modify these files, if they wish to adapt the log rotation policy defined by Debian. The logrotate(1) man page describes all of the options available in these configuration files. You may want to increase the number of files retained in log rotation, or move the log files to a specific directory dedicated to archiving them rather than delete them. You could also send them by e-mail to archive them elsewhere.
The logrotate program is executed daily by the cron scheduling program (described in Section 9.7, “Scheduling Tasks with cron and atd).

8.9.4. Sharing Administrator Rights

Frequently, several administrators work on the same network. Sharing the root passwords is not very elegant, and opens the door for abuse due to the anonymity such sharing creates. The solution to this problem is the sudo program, which allows certain users to execute certain commands with special rights. In the most common use case, sudo allows a trusted user to execute any command as root. To do so, the user simply executes sudo command and authenticates using their personal password.
When installed, the sudo package gives full root rights to members of the sudo Unix group. To delegate other rights, the administrator must use the visudo command, which allows them to modify the /etc/sudoers configuration file (here again, this will invoke the vi editor, or any other editor indicated in the EDITOR environment variable). Adding a line with username ALL=(ALL) ALL allows the user in question to execute any command as root.
More sophisticated configurations allow authorization of only specific commands to specific users. All the details of the various possibilities are given in the sudoers(5) man page.

8.9.5. List of Mount Points

The /etc/fstab file gives a list of all possible mounts that happen either automatically on boot or manually for removable storage devices. Each mount point is described by a line with several space-separated fields:
  • device to mount: this can be a local partition (hard drive, CD-ROM) or a remote filesystem (such as NFS).
    This field is frequently replaced with the unique ID of the filesystem (which you can determine with blkid device) prefixed with UUID=. This guards against a change in the name of the device in the event of addition or removal of disks, or if disks are detected in a different order.
  • mount point: this is the location on the local filesystem where the device, remote system, or partition will be mounted.
  • type: this field defines the filesystem used on the mounted device. ext4, ext3, vfat, ntfs, btrfs, xfs are a few examples.
    A complete list of known filesystems is available in the mount(8) man page. The swap special value is for swap partitions; the auto special value tells the mount program to automatically detect the filesystem (which is especially useful for disk readers and USB keys, since each one might have a different filesystem);
  • options: there are many of them, depending on the filesystem, and they are documented in the mount man page. The most common are
    • rw or ro, meaning, respectively, that the device will be mounted with read/write or read-only permissions.
    • noauto deactivates automatic mounting on boot.
    • user authorizes all users to mount this filesystem (an operation which would otherwise be restricted to the root user).
    • defaults means the group of default options: rw, suid, dev, exec, auto, nouser and async, each of which can be individually disabled after defaults by adding nosuid, nodev and so on to block suid, dev and so on. Adding the user option reactivates it, since defaults includes nouser.
  • backup: this field is almost always set to 0. When it is 1, it tells the dump tool that the partition contains data that is to be backed up.
  • check order: this last field indicates whether the integrity of the filesystem should be checked on boot, and in which order this check should be executed. If it is 0, no check is conducted. The root filesystem should have the value 1, while other permanent filesystems get the value 2.

Example 8.5. Example /etc/fstab file:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=c964222e-6af1-4985-be04-19d7c764d0a7 / ext3 errors=remount-ro 0 1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=ee880013-0f63-4251-b5c6-b771f53bd90e none swap sw  0       0
/dev/scd0       /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0       0
/dev/fd0        /media/floppy   auto    rw,user,noauto  0       0
arrakis:/shared /shared         nfs     defaults        0       0

The last entry in this example corresponds to a network filesystem (NFS): the /shared/ directory on the arrakis server is mounted at /shared/ on the local machine. The format of the /etc/fstab file is documented on the fstab(5) man page.

8.9.6. locate and updatedb

The locate command can find the location of a file when you only know part of the name. It sends a result almost instantaneously, since it consults a database that stores the location of all the files on the system; this database is updated daily by the updatedb command. There are multiple implementations of the locate command and Debian picked mlocate for its standard system.
mlocate is smart enough to only return files which are accessible to the user running the command even though it uses a database that knows about all files on the system (since its updatedb implementation runs with root rights). For extra safety, the administrator can use PRUNEDPATHS in /etc/updatedb.conf to exclude some directories from being indexed.