Product SiteDocumentation Site

1.6. دورة حياة الإصدار

سوف يحوي المشروع ما بين ثلاث إلى ست نسخ مختلفة من كل برنامج في الوقت نفسه، تسمى تجريبية، غير مستقرة، اختبارية، مستقرة، مستقرة قديمة، وربما مستقرة سابقة القديمة. كل واحدة منها توافق مرحلة مختلفة من التطوير. لفهم الوضع بشكل جيد، دعنا نلقي نظرة على رحلة البرنامج، منذ عملية التحزيم الأولية وحتى إضافته إلى النسخة المستقرة من دبيان.

1.6.1. الحالة التجريبية

دعنا في البداية نلقي نظرة على على الحالة الخاصة للتوزيعة Experimental (التجريبية): هذه عبارة عن مجموعة من حزم دبيان التي تحوي برمجيات قيد التطوير، ولا يشترط أن تكون مكتملة، من هنا جاء الاسم. لا يستطيع كل شيء عبور هذه المرحلة؛ يضيف بعض المطورين هنا للحصول على ملاحظات من المستخدمين الأكثر خبرة (أو المستخدمين الشجعان).
فيما عدا ذلك، تستضيف هذه التوزيعة بين الحين والآخر التعديلات المهمة على الحزم الأساسية، التي سينتج عن إضافتها إلى غير المستقرة آثار خطيرة إذا وجدت فيها علل قاتلة. لذلك تعزل هذه التوزيعة بالكامل، ولا تهاجر حزمها أبداً إلى النسخ الأخرى (إلا عن طريق تدخل المشرف أو ftpmasters بشكل واضح ومباشر). كما أنها ليست مستقلة بذاتها: فلا تحوي إلا مجموعة فرعية من الحزم، وهي لا تشمل النظام الأساسي عموماً. إذن، لا تفيد التوزيعة التجريبية إلا إذا جُمِعَت مع توزيعة أخرى مستقلة، مثل غير المستقرة.

1.6.2. الحالة غير المستقرة

دعنا نلتفت إلى حالة الحزم النموذجية. يُنشِئ المشرف حزمة أولية، التي يترجمها للنسخة Unstable (غير المستقرة) من دبيان ويضعها على مخدم ftp-master.debian.org. هذا الحدث الأولي يستدعي تدقيق ومصادقة ftmasters. بعدها يصبح البرنامج متاحاً في التوزيعة غير المستقرة، وهي التوزيعة الأحدث التي يختارها المستخدمون الذين يهتمون بالحصول على أحدث الحزم أكثر مما تهمهم العلل الخطيرة. يكتشف هؤلاء البرنامج إذاً ويختبرونه.
إذا واجهتهم مشاكل، سوف يبلغون عنها إلى مشرف الحزمة. بعدها يحضر المشرف نسخاً مصححة بانتظام، التي يرفعها إلى المخدم.
كل تحديث جديد للحزمة ينتقل لجميع مرايا دبيان حول العالم خلال ست ساعات. بعدها يستطيع المستخدمون اختبار التصحيحات والبحث عن أي مشاكل أخرى نتجت عن التعديلات. قد تجري بعدها تحديثات عديدة سريعة. خلال هذه الفترة، تنطلق روبوتات البناء الآلي (autobuilder) للعمل. في أغلب الأحيان، يملك المشرف حاسوباً شخصياً تقليدياً وحيداً ويترجم حزمته على المعمارية amd64 (أو i386)؛ تتولى البانيات الآلية (autobuilders) العمل وتترجم نسخاً لجميع المعماريات الأخرى آلياً. قد تفشل بعض الترجمات؛ عندها سيستقبل المشرف تقرير علة يوضّح المشكلة، التي تصحح لاحقاً في النسخ التالية. أما إذا اكتشف العلة أحد الخبراء في المعمارية المذكورة، فقد يرفق رقعة جاهزة للاستخدام بتقرير العلة.
ترجمة الحزم باستخدام البانيات الآلية

شكل 1.2. ترجمة الحزم باستخدام البانيات الآلية

1.6.3. الهجرة إلى الاختبارية

بعد مدة، تنضج الحزمة؛ وتترجم على جميع المعماريات، كما لن تجرى عليها أي تعديلات جديدة لفترة من الزمن. عندئذ تُرشَّح للتضمين في التوزيعة الاختبارية (Testing) — وهي مجموعة من الحزم غير المستقرة المختارة وفقاً لمعايير محددة. كل يوم يختار برنامج آلي الحزم التي ستضاف إلى الاختبارية، حسب مجموعة من العناصر التي تضمن مستوى معين من الجودة:
  1. عدم وجود علل حرجة، أو على الأقل، أن تكون العلل الحرجة أقل مما هي في النسخة الموجودة حالياً في الاختبارية؛
  2. قضاء 10 أيام على الأقل في غير المستقرة، وهذه فترة كافية للعثور على أي مشاكل خطيرة والإبلاغ عنها؛
  3. نجاح ترجمة الحزمة على جميع المعماريات المدعومة رسمياً؛
  4. يجب أن تكون اعتماديات الحزمة قابلة للحل في الاختبارية، أو أن يمكن على الأقل نقل اعتمادياتها معها.
من الواضح أن هذا النظام ليس معصوماً عن الخطأ؛ فالعلل الحرجة تظهر بانتظام في الحزم المضمنة في الاختبارية. مع ذلك، فهو فعال عموماً، والمشاكل التي تبرز في الاختبارية أقل بكثير من التي تجدها في غير المستقرة، وبذلك تكون للعديد من الأشخاص حلاً وسطاً مقبولاً بين الاستقرار والحداثة.

1.6.4. الترقية من الاختبارية إلى المستقرة

دعنا نفترض أن حزمتنا وصلت الآن إلى الاختبارية. طالما أن هناك مجال للتحسين، يجب أن يتابع المشرف على الحزمة تحسينها وإعادة بدء العملية من غير المستقرة (لكن إضافتها لاحقاً إلى الاختبارية تكون أسرع عموماً: فإذا لم تتغير بشكل كبير، ستكون كل اعتمادياتها موجودة مسبقاً). عندما تصل إلى المثالية، ينتهي عمل المشرف. الخطوة التالية، هي تضمينها في التوزيعة المستقرة (Stable)، وما هي ‒في الواقع‒ إلا نسخة بسيطة من الاختبارية في لحظة محددة يختارها مديرو الإصدار. في الحالة المثالية، يُتَّخذ هذا القرار عند جاهزية المُثبِّت، وعندما لا يحوي أي برنامج في الاختبارية أي علل حرجة.
بما أن هذه اللحظة لن تصل أبداً في الحقيقة، يجب أن يضحي دبيان عملياً: إما بإزالة الحزم التي لا يتمكن مشرفوها من تصحيح عللها في الوقت المناسب، أو الاتفاق على إصدار توزيعة تحوي بعض العلل من بين آلاف البرامج. يعلن مديرو الإصدار قبل هذا عن فترة تجميد، تحتاج أثناءها كل التحديثات التي تصل إلى الاختبارية للموافقة. الهدف هنا منع دخول أي نسخة جديدة (مع عللها الجديدة)، وقبول التحديثات التي تصحح العلل السابقة فقط.
مسار الحزمة بين نسخ دبيان المختلفة

شكل 1.3. مسار الحزمة بين نسخ دبيان المختلفة

بعد إطلاق نسخة مستقرة جديدة، يتولى مديرو الإصدار المستقر إدارة كل التطويرات التالية (تدعى ”مراجعات revisions“، مثلاً: 7.1، 7.2، 7.3، بالنسبة للإصدار 7). تحوي هذه التحديثات كل الترقيعات الأمنية أصولاً. كما أنها ستضم أهم التصحيحات (يجب أن يبرهن مشرف الحزمة على خطورة المشكلة التي يريد تصحيحها حتى تضاف تحديثاته).
في نهاية الرحلة، أصبحت حزمتنا المفترضة في التوزيعة المستقرة. توضح هذه الرحلة، التي لا تخلو من الصعوبات، التأخيرات الكبيرة التي تفصل إصدارات دبيان المستقرة. يساهم هذا إجمالاً في سمعة دبيان بمجال الجودة. بالإضافة لذلك، غالبية المستخدمين يرضون باستخدام إحدى التوزيعات الثلاث المتوفرة في كل الأوقات. فمديري النظم، الذين تهمهم استقرارية مخدماتهم أكثر من أي شيء، لا يحتاجون آخر صيحات النسخة الحديثة من GNOME؛ يستطيعون اختيار دبيان المستقرة، وسيكونون راضين. أما المستخدمون النهائيون، الذين تهمهم إصدارات GNOME أو KDE الأخيرة بدلاً من الاستقرارية التي لا تهتز، سيجدون دبيان الاختبارية حلاً وسطاً مقبولاً بين الحصول على أحدث البرمجيات وبين عدم وجود مشاكل كبيرة. أخيراً، المطورون والمستخدمون الأكثر خبرة يستطيعون تمهيد الطريق عبر اختبار أحدث التطورات في دبيان غير المستقرة في منبعها، على حساب أوجاع الرأس وملاقاة العلل التي تظهر في كل النسخ الجديدة من البرامج. لكل واحد دبيان خاص به!
المسار الزمني للبرامج التي تحزمها دبيان

شكل 1.4. المسار الزمني للبرامج التي تحزمها دبيان

1.6.5. حالة النسخة المستقرة القديمة والمستقرة سابقة القديمة

لكل نسخة مستقرة عمر يقدر بحوالي 5 سنوات، وبما أن الإصدارات الجديدة تظهر كل سنتين فمن الممكن أن تبقى 3 إصدارات مدعومة متاحة في أي لحظة زمنية. عندما تصدر نسخة مستقرة جديدة، تصبح النسخة السابقة لها مستقرة قديمة وسابقتها الأقدم تصبح المستقرة سابقة القديمة.
إصدارات دبيان طويلة الدعم هذه هي مبادرة حديثة العهد: تضامن المساهمون الأفراد والشركات لتكوين فريق دبيان LTS (اختصار Long Term Support). يتولى هذا الفريق مسؤولية دعم الإصدارات الأقدم التي يتوقف فريق دبيان security عن دعمها.
يتولى فريق Debian security دعم النسخة المستقرة الحالية وأيضاً النسخة المستقرة القديمة (ولكن الدعم يستمر فقط بحيث يضمن تداخل النسخة القديمة لسنة واحدة مع المستقرة الحالية). هذا يعطي حوالي ثلاث سنوات من الدعم لكل إصدار. يتولى فريق Debian LTS الدعم الأمني في آخر سنتين (تقريباً) بحيث تستفيد كل نسخة من دعم لا يقل عن 5 سنوات وبحيث يتمكن المستخدمون من الترقية من النسخة N إلى N+2.

Product SiteDocumentation Site

1.6. Lifecycle of a Release

The project will simultaneously have three or four different versions of each program, named Experimental, Unstable, Testing, and Stable. Each one corresponds to a different phase in development. For a good understanding, let us take a look at a program's journey, from its initial packaging to inclusion in a stable version of Debian.

1.6.1. The Experimental Status

First let us take a look at the particular case of the Experimental distribution: this is a group of Debian packages corresponding to the software currently in development, and not necessarily completed, explaining its name. Not everything passes through this step; some developers add packages here in order to get feedback from more experienced (or braver) users.
Otherwise, this distribution frequently houses important modifications to base packages, whose integration into Unstable with serious bugs would have critical repercussions. It is, thus, a completely isolated distribution, its packages never migrate to another version (except by direct, express intervention of the maintainer or the ftpmasters). It is also not self-contained: only a subset of the existing packages are present in Experimental, and it generally does not include the base system. This distribution is therefore mostly useful in combination with another, self-contained, distribution such as Unstable.

1.6.2. The Unstable Status

Let us turn back to the case of a typical package. The maintainer creates an initial package, which they compile for the Unstable version and place on the ftp-master.debian.org server. This first event involves inspection and validation from the ftpmasters. The software is then available in the Unstable distribution, which is the “cutting edge” distribution chosen by users who are more concerned with having up to date packages than worried about serious bugs. They discover the program and then test it.
If they encounter bugs, they report them to the package's maintainer. The maintainer then regularly prepares corrected versions, which they upload to the server.
Every newly updated package is updated on all Debian mirrors around the world within six hours. The users then test the corrections and search for other problems resulting from the modifications. Several updates may then occur rapidly. During these times, autobuilder robots come into action. Most frequently, the maintainer has only one traditional PC and has compiled his package on the amd64 (or i386) architecture; the autobuilders take over and automatically compile versions for all the other architectures. Some compilations may fail; the maintainer will then receive a bug report indicating the problem, which is then to be corrected in the next versions. When the bug is discovered by a specialist for the architecture in question, the bug report may come with a patch ready to use.
Compilation of a package by the autobuilders

Figure 1.2. Compilation of a package by the autobuilders


1.6.3. Migration to Testing

A bit later, the package will have matured; compiled on all the architectures, it will not have undergone recent modifications. It is then a candidate for inclusion in the Testing distribution — a group of Unstable packages chosen according to some quantifiable criteria. Every day a program automatically selects the packages to include in Testing, according to elements guaranteeing a certain level of quality:
  1. lack of critical bugs, or, at least fewer than the version currently included in Testing;
  2. at least 10 days spent in Unstable, which is sufficient time to find and report any serious problems;
  3. successful compilation on all officially supported architectures;
  4. dependencies that can be satisfied in Testing, or that can at least be moved there together with the package in question.
This system is clearly not infallible; critical bugs are regularly found in packages included in Testing. Still, it is generally effective, and Testing poses far fewer problems than Unstable, being for many, a good compromise between stability and novelty.

1.6.4. The Promotion from Testing to Stable

Let us suppose that our package is now included in Testing. As long as it has room for improvement, its maintainer must continue to improve it and restart the process from Unstable (but its later inclusion in Testing is generally faster: unless it changed significantly, all of its dependencies are already available). When it reaches perfection, the maintainer has completed their work. The next step is the inclusion in the Stable distribution, which is, in reality, a simple copy of Testing at a moment chosen by the Release Manager. Ideally this decision is made when the installer is ready, and when no program in Testing has any known critical bugs.
Since this moment never truly arrives, in practice, Debian must compromise: remove packages whose maintainer has failed to correct bugs on time, or agree to release a distribution with some bugs in the thousands of programs. The Release Manager will have previously announced a freeze period, during which each update to Testing must be approved. The goal here is to prevent any new version (and its new bugs), and to only approve updates fixing bugs.
A package's path through the various Debian versions

Figure 1.3. A package's path through the various Debian versions


After the release of a new stable version, the Stable Release Manager manages all further development (called “revisions”, ex: 5.0.1, 5.0.2, 5.0.3 for version 5.0). These updates systematically include all security patches. They will also include the most important corrections (the maintainer of a package must prove the gravity of the problem that they wish to correct in order to have their updates included).
At the end of the journey, our hypothetical package is now included in the stable distribution. This journey, not without its difficulties, explains the significant delays separating the Debian Stable releases. This contributes, over all, to its reputation for quality. Furthermore, the majority of users are satisfied using one of the three distributions simultaneously available. The system administrators, concerned above all about the stability of their servers, don't need the latest and greatest version of GNOME; they can choose Debian Stable, and they will be satisfied. End users, more interested in the latest versions of GNOME or KDE than in rock-solid stability, will find Debian Testing to be a good compromise between a lack of serious problems and relatively up to date software. Finally, developers and more experienced users may blaze the trail, testing all the latest developments in Debian Unstable right out of the gate, at the risk of suffering the headaches and bugs inherent in any new version of a program. To each their own Debian!
Chronological path of a program packaged by Debian

Figure 1.4. Chronological path of a program packaged by Debian