Product SiteDocumentation Site

5.2. المعلومات الفوقية للحزمة

حزمة دبيان ليست مجرد أرشيف ملفات مُعدٌّ للتثبيت. بل هي جزء من كيان أكبر، وهي تصف العلاقة بينها وبين حزم دبيان الأخرى (اعتماد، تضارب، اقتراح). كما توفر سكربتات تسمح بتنفيذ الأوامر في مختلف المراحل في دورة حياة الحزمة (تثبيت، إزالة، تحديث). تستخدم أدوات إدارة الحزم هذه البيانات لكنها ليست جزءاً من البرمجية المُحزَّمة؛ بل تكوّن – داخل الحزمة – ما يدعى ”بالمعلومات الفوقية meta-information“ (معلومات عن المعلومات).

5.2.1. وصف: الملف control

يستعمل هذا الملف بنية مشابهة لترويسات البريد الإلكتروني (كما عرَّفها RFC 2822). مثلاً، يبدو ملف control الخاص بحزمة apt كالتالي:
$ apt-cache show apt
Package: apt
Version: 1.0.9.6
Installed-Size: 3788
Maintainer: APT Development Team <deity@lists.debian.org>
Architecture: amd64
Replaces: manpages-it (<< 2.80-4~), manpages-pl (<< 20060617-3~), openjdk-6-jdk (<< 6b24-1.11-0ubuntu1~), sun-java5-jdk (>> 0), sun-java6-jdk (>> 0)
Depends: libapt-pkg4.12 (>= 1.0.9.6), libc6 (>= 2.15), libgcc1 (>= 1:4.1.1), libstdc++6 (>= 4.9), debian-archive-keyring, gnupg
Suggests: aptitude | synaptic | wajig, dpkg-dev (>= 1.17.2), apt-doc, python-apt
Conflicts: python-apt (<< 0.7.93.2~)
Breaks: manpages-it (<< 2.80-4~), manpages-pl (<< 20060617-3~), openjdk-6-jdk (<< 6b24-1.11-0ubuntu1~), sun-java5-jdk (>> 0), sun-java6-jdk (>> 0)
Description-en: commandline package manager
 This package provides commandline tools for searching and
 managing as well as querying information about packages
 as a low-level access to all features of the libapt-pkg library.
 .
 These include:
  * apt-get for retrieval of packages and information about them
    from authenticated sources and for installation, upgrade and
    removal of packages together with their dependencies
  * apt-cache for querying available information about installed
    as well as installable packages
  * apt-cdrom to use removable media as a source for packages
  * apt-config as an interface to the configuration settings
  * apt-key as an interface to manage authentication keys
Description-md5: 9fb97a88cb7383934ef963352b53b4a7
Tag: admin::package-management, devel::lang:ruby, hardware::storage,
 hardware::storage:cd, implemented-in::c++, implemented-in::perl,
 implemented-in::ruby, interface::commandline, network::client,
 protocol::ftp, protocol::http, protocol::ipv6, role::program,
 role::shared-lib, scope::application, scope::utility, sound::player,
 suite::debian, use::downloading, use::organizing, use::searching,
 works-with::audio, works-with::software:package, works-with::text
Section: admin
Priority: important
Filename: pool/main/a/apt/apt_1.0.9.6_amd64.deb
Size: 1107560
MD5sum: a325ccb14e69fef2c50da54e035a4df4
SHA1: 635d09fcb600ec12810e3136d51e696bcfa636a6
SHA256: 371a559ce741394b59dbc6460470a9399be5245356a9183bbeea0f89ecaabb03

5.2.1.1. الاعتماديات: حقل Depends

تُعرَّف الاعتماديات في حقل Depends في ترويسة الحزمة. الاعتماديات هي لائحة بالشروط الواجب إيفاؤها حتى تعمل الحزمة بشكل صحيح — تستخدم بعض الأدوات هذه المعلومات مثل apt في سبيل تثبيت المكتبات المطلوبة، بالإصدارات المناسبة التي تلبي اعتماديات البرنامج المثبت. بالنسبة لكل اعتمادية، يمكن تقييد نطاق إصداراتها التي تحقق الشرط. بكلمات أخرى، من الممكن التعبير عن حقيقة أننا نحتاج إصدارة أكبر أو تساوي ”2.15“ من الحزمة libc6 (نكتب ذلك ”libc6(>= 2.15)“). عمليات مقارنة الإصدارات هي كالتالي:
  • <<: أقل من؛
  • <=: أقل من أو يساوي؛
  • =: يساوي (لاحظ أن ”2.6.1“ لا يساوي ”2.6.1-1‎“)؛
  • >=: أكبر من أو يساوي؛
  • >>: أكبر من؛
تخدم الفاصلة كحرف فصل في لائحة الشروط الواجب تحقيقها. يمكن تفسير معناها على أنها ”and“ منطقية. وفي لائحة الشروط أيضًا، يعبِّر الخط الشاقولي (”|“) عن عملية ”or“ المنطقية (عملية ”أو“ تضمنية ”inclusive or“ وليست عملية ”إما كذا أو كذا exclusive or“). ولأن أولويتها أكبر من أولوية ”and“، يمكن استخدامها قدر الحاجة. بالتالي، تُكتَب الاعتمادية ”A or B) and C)“ بالشكل A | B, C. وفي المقابل، التعبير ”(A or (B and C“ يجب كتابته بالشكل ”(A or B) and (A or C)“، لأن حقل Depends لا يسمح بالأقواس التي تُغيِّر ترتيب الأولويات بين العمليات المنطقية ”or“ و ”and“. سيُكتب إذاً كالتالي A | B, A | C.
نظام الاعتماديات وسيلة جيدة لضمان عمل البرنامج، لكن له استخدام آخر عبر ”الحزم الفوقية“. هذه الحزم هي حزم فارغة تُعرّف فقط اعتماديات. وهي تُسهِّل تثبيت مجموعة مترابطة من البرامج التي يختارها مشرف الحزمة الفوقية مسبقاً؛ بالتالي، سيثبت الأمر apt install meta-package جميع هذه البرامج آلياً باستخدام اعتماديات الحزمة الفوقية. الحزم gnome، و kde-full و linux-image-amd64 هي أمثلة عن الحزم الفوقية.

5.2.1.2. تضارب: حقل Conflicts

يبين الحقل Conflicts أن الحزمة لا يمكن تثبيتها على النظام عند وجود حزمة أخرى. أكثر الأسباب شيوعاً لهذا التضارب هي أن الحزمتين تحويان ملفاً له الاسم نفسه، أو تقدمان الخدمة ذاتها على نفس منفذ TCP، أو أنهما تتعارضان في عملهما.
يرفض dpkg تثبيت حزمة تتعارض مع حزمة مثبتة سابقاً، إلا إذا كانت الحزمة الجديدة تبين أنها ”تستبدل“ الحزمة المثبتة، في تلك الحالة، يختار dpkg استبدال الحزمة القديمة بالجديدة. أما apt فتتبع إرشاداتك دوماً: إذا اخترت تثبيت حزمة جديدة، سوف تعرض عليك تلقائياً إزالة الحزمة التي تسبب مشكلة.

5.2.1.3. عدم التوافق: حقل Breaks

تأثير الحقل Breaks يشبه تأثير الحقل Conflicts، لكن له معنى خاص. يشير هذا الحقل إلى أن تثبيت الحزمة سوف ”يعطب“ حزمة أخرى (أو نسخة محددة منها). عموماً، هذا النوع من عدم التوافق بين الحزم انتقالي، وغالباً ما تحدد علاقة Breaks الإصدارات غير المتوافقة فيما بينها.
يرفض dpkg تثبيت حزمة تعطب حزمة مثبتة مسبقاً، أما apt فتحاول حل المشكلة بتحديث الحزمة التي كانت ستتعطل إلى إصدار أحدث (الذي يفترض أنه قد أُصلِح، وأنه قد عاد متوافقاً من جديد).
يحدث هذا النوع من الحالات في حال صدور تحديثات بدون توافق عكسي: هذا ما يحدث عندما لا تتوافق النسخة الجديدة مع النسخة القديمة، وتسبب أعطالاً في برامج أخرى ما لم تتخذ الاحتياطات المناسبة. يستخدم الحقل Breaks لمنع المستخدم من الخوض في هذه المشاكل.

5.2.1.4. العناصر المقدَّمة: حقل Provides

يقدم هذا الحقل مفهوم ”الحزمة الظاهرية“. لهذا الحقل أدوار عديدة، لكن اثنين منها لهما أهمية خاصة. يتمثل الدور الأول في استخدام الحزمة الظاهرية لربطها مع خدمة عامة (الحزمة ”توفر provides“ الخدمة). أما الدور الثاني فهو أن هذا الحقل يشير إلى أن الحزمة تستبدل حزمة أخرى بالكامل، وأنها تستطيع أيضاً تلبية اعتماديات الحزم التي تعتمد على الحزمة المُستَبدَلَة. بالتالي، يمكن إنشاء حزمة بديلة دون الاضطرار لاستخدام اسم الحزمة نفسه.
5.2.1.4.1. تقديم ”خدمة“
دعنا نناقش الحالة الأولى بتفصيل أكثر من خلال مثال: نقول أن جميع مخدمات البريد الإلكتروني، مثل postfix أو sendmail ”تُقدِّم“ الحزمة الظاهرية mail-transport-agent. بالتالي، أي حزمة تحتاج هذه الخدمة (مثل برامج إدارة قوائم بريدية، مثل smartlist أو sympa) تصرح ببساطة أنها تحتاج mail-transport-agent في اعتمادياتها بدلاً من تحديد قائمة طويلة وغير كاملة للحلول الممكنة (مثل postfix‏ | sendmail‏ | exim4 | …). بالإضافة لذلك، لا فائدة من تثبيت مخدمي بريد إلكتروني على نفس الجهاز، ولذلك تصرح كل واحدة من هذه الحزم عن تعارض مع الحزمة الظاهرية mail-transport-agent. يتجاهل النظام تعارض الحزمة مع نفسها، لكن هذه التقنية تمنع تثبيت أكثر من مخدم بريد إلكتروني واحد على نفس الجهاز.
5.2.1.4.2. إبدال الحزم
يفيد الحقل Provides أيضاً عندما تدرج محتويات الحزمة في حزمة أكبر. مثلاً، وحدة بيرل libdigest-md5-perl كانت وحدة اختيارية في بيرل 5.6، وبعدها دُمِجَت كوحدة قياسية في بيرل 5.8 (والإصدارات اللاحقة أيضاً، كالإصدار 5.20 المتوفر في جيسي). نتيجة لذلك، أضافت الحزمة perl منذ الإصدار 5.8 التصريح Provides: libdigest-md5-perl بحيث تتم تلبية اعتماد الحزم الأخرى على هذه الحزمة إذا ثبَّت المستخدم بيرل 5.8 (أو أحدث). لقد حُذِفَت الحزمة libdigest-md5-perl في النهاية، بما أنه لم يبق لها أي عمل بعد إزالة الإصدارات القديمة من بيرل.
استعمال الحقل Provides للحفاظ على سلامة علاقات الاعتماد بين الحزم

شكل 5.1. استعمال الحقل Provides للحفاظ على سلامة علاقات الاعتماد بين الحزم

هذه الميزة مفيدة جداً، لأنه لا يمكن أبداً التنبؤ بتقلبات التطوير، ومن المهم أن يكون هناك مجال للتكيف مع إعادة التسمية وغيرها من الاستبدالات الآلية للبرمجيات الميتة.
5.2.1.4.3. القيود السابقة
كانت الحزم الظاهرية تعاني من بعض القيود، وكان أهمها عدم وجود رقم للإصدار. بالعودة إلى مثالنا السابق، لا يمكن لنظام الحزم أن يعتبر الاعتمادية Depends: libdigest-md5-perl (>= 1.6) مثلاً محققة أبداً، حتى مع تثبيت بيرل 5.10 — رغم أنها على الأغلب محققة فعلاً. لكن نظام الحزم لا يدرك هذا، ويفضل الخيار الأقل مخاطرة، ويفترض أن الإصدارين غير متناسبين.
أزيل هذا القيد في dpkg 1.17.11، ولم يعد له تأثير في جيسي. تستطيع الحزم إسناد رقم إصدار للحزم الظاهرية التي توفرها عبر اعتمادية مثل Provides: libdigest-md5-perl (= 1.8).

5.2.1.5. استبدال الملفات: حقل Replaces

يشير الحقل Replaces إلى أن الحزمة تحوي ملفات تتوفر أيضاً في حزم أخرى، لكن هذه الحزمة مخولة باستبدالها شرعاً. بدون هذا التصريح، سيخفق dpkg، ويعلن أنه لا يستطيع استبدال ملفات الحزمة الأخرى (تقنياً، يمكن إجبار dpkg على ذلك باستخدام الخيار ‎--force-overwrite، لكن هذه العملية لا تعتبر عملية قياسية). هذا يسمح بالتعرف على المشاكل التي يُحتَمَل ظهورها، كما يفرض على المشرف دراسة الوضع قبل أن يقرر إضافة حقل كهذا.
يُبرَّر استخدام هذا الحقل عند تغيير اسم الحزمة أو عند تضمين حزمة في حزمة أخرى. كما يحدث هذا أيضاً عندما يقرر المشرف توزيع الملفات الناتجة عن حزمة مصدرية واحدة بشكل متفاوت بين عدة حزم ثنائية متنوعة: لم يعد الملف المستبدل ينتمي للحزمة القديمة، بل فقط للحزمة الجديدة.
إذا استبدلت جميع ملفات إحدى الحزم المثبتة، تعتبر الحزمة مزالة. أخيراً، يشجع هذا الحقل dpkg على إزالة الحزمة المستبدَلَة عند حدوث تضارب.

5.2.2. سكربتات الإعداد

بالإضافة إلى ملف control، قد يحتوي أرشيف control.tar.gz الموجود في كل حزمة دبيان على عدد من السكربتات، يستدعيها dpkg في مراحل مختلفة من معالجة الحزمة. تصف سياسة دبيان الحالات المحتملة بالتفصيل، مُحدِّدَةً السكربتات المستدعاة والمتغيرات التي تستقبلها. هذه التسلسلات قد تكون معقدة، لأنه إذا فشل تنفيذ أحد السكربتات، سيحاول dpkg العودة إلى حالة مُرضِيَة عبر إلغاء عملية التثبيت أو الإزالة الجارية (طالما كان ذلك ممكناً).
عموماً، يُنفَّذ السكربت preinst قبل تثبيت الحزمة، في حين يتبعه postinst. كذلك، يُستدعى prerm قبل إزالة الحزمة و postrm بعد ذلك. تحديث الحزمة يكافئ إزالة النسخة القديمة وتثبيت الجديدة. لا يمكن وصف جميع الحالات الممكنة هنا، لكننا سنناقش الحالتين الأكثر شيوعاً: التثبيت أو التحديث، والإزالة.

5.2.2.1. التثبيت والتحديث

إليك ما يحدث خلال التثبيت (أو التحديث):
  1. بالنسبة للتحديث، يستدعي dpkg الأمر old-prerm upgrade new-version.
  2. في التحديث أيضاً، ينفذ dpkg بعدها new-preinst upgrade old-version؛ أما بالنسبة للتثبيت للمرة الأولى فيستدعي new-preinst install. قد يضيف dpkg الإصدار القديم إلى ذيل البارامترات إذا كانت الحزمة مثبتة ومزالة من قبل (لكن لم يتم تطهيرها، أي أن ملفات إعداداتها لا تزال موجودة).
  3. بعدها يفك الضغط عن ملفات الحزمة الجديدة. تستبدل الملفات الموجودة سابقاً، لكن مع الاحتفاظ بنسخة احتياطية مؤقتة.
  4. بالنسبة للتحديث، يستدعي dpkg الأمر old-postrm upgrade new-version.
  5. يُحدِّث dpkg جميع البيانات الداخلية (لائحة الملفات، سكربتات الإعداد، الخ) ويحذف النسخ الاحتياطية للملفات المستبدلة. هذه هي نقطة اللاعودة: عند هذه اللحظة لا يعود dpkg قادراً على الوصول إلى جميع العناصر اللازمة للرجوع إلى الحالة السابقة.
  6. بعدها يُحدِّث dpkg ملفات الضبط، ويطلب من المستخدم اتخاذ قرار إذا لم يستطع إدارة هذه المهمة آلياً. تفاصيل هذه العملية مشروحة في قسم 5.2.3, “شفرات التحقق، لائحة ملفات الضبط”.
  7. أخيراً، يضبط dpkg الحزمة بتنفيذ new-postinst configure last-version-configured.

5.2.2.2. إزالة حزمة

إليك ما يحدث أثناء إزالة حزمة:
  1. يستدعي dpkg الأمر prerm remove.
  2. يزيل dpkg جميع ملفات الحزمة، عدا ملفات الضبط وسكربتات الإعداد.
  3. ينفذ dpkg الأمر postrm remove. تُحذَف جميع سكربتات الإعداد، عدا postrm. إذا لم يطلب المستخدم خيار ”التطهير“، تنتهي العملية هنا.
  4. لتطهير الحزمة بالكامل (يطلب هذا الأمر بالشكل dpkg --purge أو dpkg -P)، تُحذَف ملفات الإعدادات أيضاً، بالإضافة لعدد معين من النسخ (dpkg-tmp.*، ‏dpkg-old.*، ‏dpkg-new.*) والملفات المؤقتة؛ بعدها ينفذ dpkg الأمر postrm purge.
هناك سكربت config يكمل السكربتات الأربعة المذكورة سابقاً، توفره الحزم التي تعتمد على debconf للحصول على معلومات من المستخدم لضبط الحزمة. يُحدِّد هذا السكربت أثناء التثبيت الأسئلة التي تطرحها debconf بالتفصيل. تُسجَّل الإجابات في قاعدة بيانات debconf للرجوع إليها مستقبلاً. تستدعي apt هذا السكربت عموماً قبل تثبيت الحزم واحدة تلو الأخرى وذلك لتجميع كل الأسئلة وطرحها جميعاً على المستخدم في بداية العملية. يمكن بعدها أن تستفيد سكربتات ما قبل وما بعد التثبيت من هذه المعلومات حتى تتبع رغبات المستخدم.

5.2.3. شفرات التحقق، لائحة ملفات الضبط

قد يحوي أرشيف control.tar.gz في حزمة دبيان ملفات مهمة أخرى بالإضافة لسكربتات الإعداد وبيانات التحكم المذكورة في الأقسام السابقة. أولها، md5sums، يحوي شفرات MD5 لجميع ملفات الحزمة. فائدته الأساسية هي أنه يسمح للأداة dpkg --verify (التي سندرسها في قسم 14.3.3.1, “فحص سلامة الحزم باستخدام dpkg --verify) للتأكد أن هذه الملفات لم تُعدَّل منذ تثبيتها. لاحظ أنه عند عدم وجود هذا الملف، سوف يولده dpkg ديناميكياً أثناء عملية التثبيت (ويخزنه في قاعدة بيانات dpkg مثل ملفات التحكم الأخرى).
يسرد الملف conffiles ملفات الحزمة التي يجب معاملتها كملفات ضبط. قد يُعدِّل مدير النظام ملفات الضبط، وسوف يحاول dpkg الحفاظ على هذه التعديلات عند تحديث الحزمة.
في الواقع، يتصرف dpkg بأذكى ما يمكن في هذه الحالات: إذا لم يتغيَّر ملف الإعدادات القياسي بين النسختين، لا يفعل أي شيء. لكن إذا تَغيَّر الملف، سيحاول تحديث هذا الملف. هناك احتمالين هنا: إما أن مدير النظام لم يلمس ملف الإعداد هذا، وفي تلك الحالة يُثبِّت dpkg النسخة الجديدة آلياً؛ أو أن الملف قد عُدِّل، وفي تلك الحالة يسأل dpkg مدير النظام عن النسخة التي يريد أن يستخدمها (النسخة القديمة المعدلة، أو الجديدة الموفرة مع الحزمة). حتى يساعد dpkg في اتخاذ هذا القرار، يعرض عليك إظهار ”diff“ يُبيِّنُ الاختلاف بين النسختين. إذا اختار المستخدم إبقاء النسخة القديمة، سوف تُخزَّن الجديدة في نفس المكان في ملف له اللاحقة ‎.dpkg-dist. أما إذا اختار المستخدم النسخة الجديدة، تحفظ النسخة القديمة في ملف له اللاحقة ‎.dpkg-old. هناك خيار آخر متاح وهو مقاطعة dpkg مؤقتاً لتحرير الملف ومحاولة استرجاع التعديلات المناسبة (التي تم التعرف عليها باستخدام diff).

Product SiteDocumentation Site

5.2. Package Meta-Information

The Debian package is not only an archive of files intended for installation. It is part of a larger whole, and it describes its relationship with other Debian packages (dependencies, conflicts, suggestions). It also provides scripts that enable the execution of commands at different stages in the package's lifecycle (installation, removal, upgrades). These data used by the package management tools are not part of the packaged software, but are, within the package, what is called its “meta-information” (information about other information).

5.2.1. Description: the control File

This file uses a structure similar to email headers (as defined by RFC 2822). For example, for apt, the control file looks like the following:
$ apt-cache show apt
Package: apt
Version: 0.9.7.9
Installed-Size: 3271
Maintainer: APT Development Team <deity@lists.debian.org>
Architecture: amd64
Replaces: manpages-pl (<< 20060617-3~)
Depends: libapt-pkg4.12 (>= 0.9.7.9), libc6 (>= 2.4), libgcc1 (>= 1:4.1.1), libstdc++6 (>= 4.6), debian-archive-keyring, gnupg
Suggests: aptitude | synaptic | wajig, dpkg-dev, apt-doc, xz-utils, python-apt
Conflicts: python-apt (<< 0.7.93.2~)
Description-en: commandline package manager
 This package provides commandline tools for searching and
 managing as well as querying information about packages
 as a low-level access to all features of the libapt-pkg library.
 .
 These include:
  * apt-get for retrieval of packages and information about them
    from authenticated sources and for installation, upgrade and
    removal of packages together with their dependencies
  * apt-cache for querying available information about installed
    as well as installable packages
  * apt-cdrom to use removable media as a source for packages
  * apt-config as an interface to the configuration settings
  * apt-key as an interface to manage authentication keys
Description-md5: 9fb97a88cb7383934ef963352b53b4a7
Tag: admin::package-management, hardware::storage, hardware::storage:cd,
 implemented-in::c++, interface::commandline, network::client,
 protocol::ftp, protocol::http, protocol::ipv6, role::program,
 suite::debian, use::downloading, use::searching,
 works-with::software:package
Section: admin
Priority: important
Filename: pool/main/a/apt/apt_0.9.7.9_amd64.deb
Size: 1253524
MD5sum: 00a128b2eb2b08f4ecee7fe0d7e3c1c4
SHA1: 6a271487ceee6f6d7bc4c47a8a16f49c26e4ca04
SHA256: 3bba3b15fb5ace96df052935d7069e0d21ff1f5b496510ec9d2dc939eefad104

5.2.1.1. Dependencies: the Depends Field

The dependencies are defined in the Depends field in the package header. This is a list of conditions to be met for the package to work correctly — this information is used by tools such as apt in order to install the required libraries, in their appropriate versions, that the package to be installed depends on. For each dependency, it is possible to restrict the range of versions that meet that condition. In other words, it is possible to express the fact that we need the package libc6 in a version equal to or greater than “2.3.4” (written “libc6 (>= 2.3.4)”). Version comparison operators are as follows:
  • <<: less than;
  • <=: less than or equal to;
  • =: equal to (note that “2.6.1” is not equal to “2.6.1-1”);
  • >=: greater than or equal to;
  • >>: greater than.
In a list of conditions to be met, the comma serves as a separator. It must be interpreted as a logical “and”. In conditions, the vertical bar (“|”) expresses a logical “or” (it is an inclusive “or”, not an exclusive “either/or”). Carrying greater priority than “and”, it can be used as many times as necessary. Thus, the dependency “(A or B) and C” is written A | B, C. In contrast, the expression “A or (B and C)” should be written as “(A or B) and (A or C)”, since the Depends field does not tolerate parentheses that change the order of priorities between the logical operators “or” and “and”. It would thus be written A | B, A | C.
The dependencies system is a good mechanism for guaranteeing the operation of a program, but it has another use with “meta-packages”. These are empty packages that only describe dependencies. They facilitate the installation of a consistent group of programs preselected by the meta-package maintainer; as such, apt-get install meta-package will automatically install all of these programs using the meta-package's dependencies. The gnome, kde-full and linux-image-amd64 packages are examples of meta-packages.

5.2.1.2. Conflicts: the Conflicts field

The Conflicts field indicates when a package cannot be installed simultaneously with another. The most common reasons for this are that both packages include a file of the same name, or provide the same service on the same TCP port, or would hinder each other's operation.
dpkg will refuse to install a package if it triggers a conflict with an already installed package, except if the new package specifies that it will “replace” the installed package, in which case dpkg will choose to replace the old package with the new one. apt-get always follows your instructions: if you choose to install a new package, it will automatically offer to uninstall the package that poses a problem.

5.2.1.3. Incompatibilities: the Breaks Field

The Breaks field has an effect similar to that of the Conflicts field, but with a special meaning. It signals that the installation of a package will “break” another package (or particular versions of it). In general, this incompatibility between two packages is transitory, and the Breaks relationship specifically refers to the incompatible versions.
dpkg will refuse to install a package that breaks an already installed package, and apt-get will try to resolve the problem by updating the package that would be broken to a newer version (which is assumed to be fixed and, thus, compatible again).
This type of situation may occur in the case of updates without backwards compatibility: this is the case if the new version no longer functions with the older version, and causes a malfunction in another program without making special provisions. The Breaks field prevents the user from running into these problems.

5.2.1.4. Provided Items: the Provides Field

This field introduces the very interesting concept of a “virtual package”. It has many roles, but two are of particular importance. The first role consists in using a virtual package to associate a generic service with it (the package “provides” the service). The second indicates that a package completely replaces another, and that for this purpose it can also satisfy the dependencies that the other would satisfy. It is thus possible to create a substitution package without having to use the same package name.
5.2.1.4.1. Providing a “Service”
Let us discuss the first case in greater detail with an example: all mail servers, such as postfix or sendmail are said to “provide” the mail-transport-agent virtual package. Thus, any package that needs this service to be functional (e.g. a mailing list manager, such as smartlist or sympa) simply states in its dependencies that it requires a mail-transport-agent instead of specifying a large yet incomplete list of possible solutions (e.g. postfix | sendmail | exim4 | …). Furthermore, it is useless to install two mail servers on the same machine, which is why each of these packages declares a conflict with the mail-transport-agent virtual package. The conflict with itself is ignored by the system, but this technique will prohibit the installation of two mail servers side by side.
5.2.1.4.2. Interchangeability with Another Package
The Provides field is again interesting when the content of a package is included in a larger package. For example, the libdigest-md5-perl Perl module was an optional module in Perl 5.6, and has been integrated as standard in Perl 5.8 (and later versions, such as 5.14 present in Wheezy). As such, the package perl has since version 5.8 declared Provides: libdigest-md5-perl so that the dependencies on this package are met if the user has Perl 5.8 (or newer). The libdigest-md5-perl package itself has eventually been deleted, since it no longer had any purpose when old Perl versions were removed.
Use of a Provides field in order to not break dependencies

Figure 5.1. Use of a Provides field in order to not break dependencies


This feature is very useful, since it is never possible to anticipate the vagaries of development, and it is necessary to be able to adjust to renaming, and other automatic replacement, of obsolete software.
5.2.1.4.3. Current Limitations
Virtual packages suffer from some limitations, the most significant of which being the absence of a version number. To return to the previous example, a dependency such as Depends: libdigest-md5-perl (>= 1.6), despite the presence of Perl 5.10, will never be considered as satisfied by the packaging system — while in fact it most likely is satisfied. Unaware of this, the package system chooses the least risky option, assuming that the versions do not match.

5.2.1.5. Replacing Files: The Replaces Field

The Replaces field indicates that the package contains files that are also present in another package, but that the package is legitimately entitled to replace them. Without this specification, dpkg fails, stating that it can not overwrite the files of another package (in fact, it is possible to force it to do so with the --force-overwrite option). This allows identification of potential problems and requires the maintainer to study the matter prior to choosing whether to add such a field.
The use of this field is justified when package names change or when a package is included in another. This also happens when the maintainer decides to distribute files differently among various binary packages produced from the same source package: a replaced file no longer belongs to the old package, but only to the new one.
If all of the files in an installed package have been replaced, the package is considered to be removed. Finally, this field also encourages dpkg to remove the replaced package where there is a conflict.

5.2.2. Configuration Scripts

In addition to the control file, the control.tar.gz archive for each Debian package may contain a number of scripts, called by dpkg at different stages in the processing of a package. The Debian Policy describes the possible cases in detail, specifying the scripts called and the arguments that they receive. These sequences may be complicated, since if one of the scripts fails, dpkg will try to return to a satisfactory state by canceling the installation or removal in progress (insofar as it is possible).
In general, the preinst script is executed prior to installation of the package, while the postinst follows it. Likewise, prerm is invoked before removal of a package and postrm afterwards. An update of a package is equivalent to removal of the previous version and installation of the new one. It is not possible to describe in detail all the possible scenarios here, but we will discuss the most common two: an installation/update and a removal.

5.2.2.1. Installation and Upgrade

Here is what happens during an installation (or an update):
  1. For an update, dpkg calls the old-prerm upgrade new-version.
  2. Still for an update, dpkg then executes new-preinst upgrade old-version; for a first installation, it executes new-preinst install. It may add the old version in the last parameter, if the package has already been installed and removed since (but not purged, the configuration files having been retained).
  3. The new package files are then unpacked. If a file already exists, it is replaced, but a backup copy is temporarily made.
  4. For an update, dpkg executes old-postrm upgrade new-version.
  5. dpkg updates all of the internal data (file list, configuration scripts, etc.) and removes the backups of the replaced files. This is the point of no return: dpkg no longer has access to all of the elements necessary to return to the previous state.
  6. dpkg will update the configuration files, asking the user to decide if it is unable to automatically manage this task. The details of this procedure are discussed in Section 5.2.3, “Checksums, List of Configuration Files”.
  7. Finally, dpkg configures the package by executing new-postinst configure last-version-configured.

5.2.2.2. Package Removal

Here is what happens during a package removal:
  1. dpkg calls prerm remove.
  2. dpkg removes all of the package's files, with the exception of the configuration files and configuration scripts.
  3. dpkg executes postrm remove. All of the configuration scripts, except postrm, are removed. If the user has not used the “purge” option, the process stops here.
  4. For a complete purge of the package (command issued with dpkg --purge or dpkg -P), the configuration files are also deleted, as well as a certain number of copies (*.dpkg-tmp, *.dpkg-old, *.dpkg-new) and temporary files; dpkg then executes postrm purge.
The four scripts detailed above are complemented by a config script, provided by packages using debconf to acquire information from the user for configuration. During installation, this script defines in detail the questions asked by debconf. The responses are recorded in the debconf database for future reference. The script is generally executed by apt prior to installing packages one by one in order to group all the questions and ask them all to the user at the beginning of the process. The pre- and post-installation scripts can then use this information to operate according to the user's wishes.

5.2.3. Checksums, List of Configuration Files

In addition to the maintainer scripts and control data already mentioned in the previous sections, the control.tar.gz archive of a Debian package may contain other interesting files. The first, md5sums, contains the MD5 checksums for all of the package's files. Its main advantage is that it allows a tool such as debsums (which we will study in Section 14.3.3.1, “Auditing Packages: debsums and its Limits”) to check if these files have been modified since their installation. Note that when this file doesn't exist, dpkg will generate it dynamically at installation time (and store it in the dpkg database just like other control files).
conffiles lists package files that must be handled as configuration files. Configuration files can be modified by the administrator, and dpkg will try to preserve those changes during a package update.
In effect, in this situation, dpkg behaves as intelligently as possible: if the standard configuration file has not changed between the two versions, it does nothing. If, however, the file has changed, it will try to update this file. Two cases are possible: either the administrator has not touched this configuration file, in which case dpkg automatically installs the new version; or the file has been modified, in which case dpkg asks the administrator which version they wish to use (the old one with modifications, or the new one provided with the package). To assist in making this decision, dpkg offers to display a “diff” that shows the difference between the two versions. If the user chooses to retain the old version, the new one will be stored in the same location in a file with the .dpkg-dist suffix. If the user chooses the new version, the old one is retained in a file with the .dpkg-old suffix. Another available action consists of momentarily interrupting dpkg to edit the file and attempt to re-instate the relevant modifications (previously identified with diff).