Product SiteDocumentation Site

5.2. 軟體套件中介資訊

Debian 軟體套件不祗是被安裝檔案的集合。還包括其他的資訊,描述與其他 Debian 軟體套件的關係 (相依、衝突、建議)。也提供在套件生命週期 (安裝、移除、升級) 各階段的腳本供執行之用。這些資料供套件管理工具使用但不是套件軟體的一部份;它們在套件內,稱為 「中介資訊」 (關於其他資訊的資訊)。

5.2.1. 描述:control 檔案

此檔案採用類似電子郵件標頭 (如 RFC 2822 的定義) 的做法。例如,apt控制 檔案內容如下:
$ apt-cache show apt
Package: apt
Version: 1.0.9.6
Installed-Size: 3788
Maintainer: APT Development Team <deity@lists.debian.org>
Architecture: amd64
Replaces: manpages-it (<< 2.80-4~), manpages-pl (<< 20060617-3~), openjdk-6-jdk (<< 6b24-1.11-0ubuntu1~), sun-java5-jdk (>> 0), sun-java6-jdk (>> 0)
Depends: libapt-pkg4.12 (>= 1.0.9.6), libc6 (>= 2.15), libgcc1 (>= 1:4.1.1), libstdc++6 (>= 4.9), debian-archive-keyring, gnupg
Suggests: aptitude | synaptic | wajig, dpkg-dev (>= 1.17.2), apt-doc, python-apt
Conflicts: python-apt (<< 0.7.93.2~)
Breaks: manpages-it (<< 2.80-4~), manpages-pl (<< 20060617-3~), openjdk-6-jdk (<< 6b24-1.11-0ubuntu1~), sun-java5-jdk (>> 0), sun-java6-jdk (>> 0)
Description-en: commandline package manager
 This package provides commandline tools for searching and
 managing as well as querying information about packages
 as a low-level access to all features of the libapt-pkg library.
 .
 These include:
  * apt-get for retrieval of packages and information about them
    from authenticated sources and for installation, upgrade and
    removal of packages together with their dependencies
  * apt-cache for querying available information about installed
    as well as installable packages
  * apt-cdrom to use removable media as a source for packages
  * apt-config as an interface to the configuration settings
  * apt-key as an interface to manage authentication keys
Description-md5: 9fb97a88cb7383934ef963352b53b4a7
Tag: admin::package-management, devel::lang:ruby, hardware::storage,
 hardware::storage:cd, implemented-in::c++, implemented-in::perl,
 implemented-in::ruby, interface::commandline, network::client,
 protocol::ftp, protocol::http, protocol::ipv6, role::program,
 role::shared-lib, scope::application, scope::utility, sound::player,
 suite::debian, use::downloading, use::organizing, use::searching,
 works-with::audio, works-with::software:package, works-with::text
Section: admin
Priority: important
Filename: pool/main/a/apt/apt_1.0.9.6_amd64.deb
Size: 1107560
MD5sum: a325ccb14e69fef2c50da54e035a4df4
SHA1: 635d09fcb600ec12810e3136d51e696bcfa636a6
SHA256: 371a559ce741394b59dbc6460470a9399be5245356a9183bbeea0f89ecaabb03

5.2.1.1. 相依性:依賴 欄位

相依性定義在套件標頭的 Depends 欄位。這是情況清單用來滿足套件正確工作所需 — 此資訊用於 apt 之類的工具用來安裝必備的程式庫,以適當的版本滿足套件的相依性。每個相依性,都指定符合其需求的版本。換句話說,像是這樣的,我們需要套件 libc6 版本大於或等於 “2.15” (寫法是 “libc6 (>= 2.15)”)。版本的寫法是:
  • <<:小於;
  • <=:小於或等於;
  • =:等於 (“2.6.1” 不等於 “2.6.1-1”);
  • >=:大於或等於;
  • >>:大於。
碰到條件時,以逗點做為交集 “and” 符號。以直線 (“|”) 為聯集 “or” 符號 (它是包容性的或 “or”、不是排它性的非此即彼 “either/or”)。優先順序比 “and” 高,可以無限次使用。因此,相依性 “(A or B) and C” 可寫成 A | B, C。另個例子,“A or (B and C)” 應寫成 “(A or B) and (A or C)”,因為 Depends 欄位不接受以括號改變邏輯運算元 “or” 與 “and”的優先次序。所以須寫成 A | B, A | C
相依性系統是保證程式順利運作的良好機制,但它也有另個用法 「中介套件」。這些空的軟體套件內容祗有相依性的說明。由中介套件維護者把一群程式的相依性描述在其中;例如,apt install meta-package 將自動安裝所有用到中介套件相依的檔案。gnomekde-fulllinux-image-amd64 套件就是中介套件之一。

5.2.1.2. 衝突: Conflicts 欄位

Conflicts 欄位指示不能與其共存的其他套件。最常見的理由是兩個套件使用相同的名稱,或在同個 TCP 埠提供相同的服務,或會隱藏彼此的運作。
dpkg 不會安裝衝突的套件,除非新套件指明 “取代” 被衝突的套件,dpkg 才會以新的套件取代舊的套件。apt 總是遵循您的指示:若選擇安裝新套件,則自動移除造成問題的舊套件。

5.2.1.3. 不相容:Breaks 欄位

Breaks 欄位的影響類似於 Conflicts 欄位,但具有特殊的意義。指出安裝一個套件將 “中斷” 另個套件 (或特別版本的套件)。通常而言,兩個套件的不相容是短暫的,且 Breaks 關係係指不相容的特定版本。
已經中斷現有套件時,dpkg 將拒絕安裝並且 apt 將更新套件至新的版本試圖解決此問題 (通常可解決此問題,並再度相容)。
此狀況可能發生在未向下相容的昇級:新版本不再與舊版本相容,沒有特別安排將造成故障。Breaks 欄位避免使用者進入此問題。

5.2.1.4. 提供項目:Provides 欄位

這個欄位引進有趣的 “虛擬套件” 概念。它有很多角色,其中兩個特別重要。第一個是以虛擬套件關連至一個通用的服務 (此套件 “提供” 此服務)。第二個是指出此套件完全取代另個套件,它也能滿足相依性的要求。因此,可能建立替代套件而不必使用相同名稱的套件。
5.2.1.4.1. 提供 “服務”
讓我們以範例詳述第一個案子:postfixsendmail 之類的郵件伺服器都 “提供” mail-transport-agent 虛擬套件。因此需要啟用該等服務的套件 (如:smartlistsympa 之類的郵寄名單管理器) 祗要在其相依性裡敘明需要 mail-transport-agent 而不是指明還不相容的可能解決方案清單 (如 postfix | sendmail | exim4 | …)。更進一步來說,在同個機器安裝兩個郵件伺服器是沒有用的,因此每個套件都聲明與 mail-transport-agent 虛擬套件衝突。系統忽略衝突的兩個套件,但技術上可以禁止同時安裝兩個郵件伺服器。
5.2.1.4.2. 與另個套件的交換性
套件內容被置於另個較大的套件內時,Provides 欄位就很有意思。例如,libdigest-md5-perl Perl 模組是 Perl 5.6 的選項之一,已被整合入標準的 Perl 5.8 (及其以後的版本,如 5.20 並納入 Jessie)。所以,套件 perl 5.8 版之後已被宣告 Provides: libdigest-md5-perl 所以祗要使用 Perl 5.8 (或更新版) 就已滿足其相依性。libdigest-md5-perl 套件本身早就被刪除,因為移除 Perl 舊版之後就沒有任何意義。
使用 Provides 欄位以避免中斷相依性

圖形 5.1. 使用 Provides 欄位以避免中斷相依性

此功能極有用,因為它永遠不可能預料變化莫測的發展,也不能重新命名、或者自動替換過時的軟體。
5.2.1.4.3. 過去的限制
虛擬套件曾有很多限制,最麻煩的是沒有版本編號。從上例可知,這種 Depends: libdigest-md5-perl (>= 1.6) 相依性,在 Perl 5.10 沒問題,但在包裝系統時仍不會滿足其相依性 — 雖然實際上已滿足了。但是包裝不知道相依性沒問題,祗好選擇風險最小的做法,假設其版本未相依。
dpkg 1.17.11 移除了這個限制,在 Jessie 裡沒問題。套件可以指定版本給虛擬套件使其相依,諸如 Provides: libdigest-md5-perl (= 1.8)

5.2.1.5. 取代檔案:Replaces 欄位

Replaces 欄位指出在其他套件的檔案,但該套件也合理地取代他們。沒有指名,dpkg 失敗,說明它不能覆寫另個套件的檔案 (技術上來說,雖不能強迫使用 --force-overwrite 選項,但可視為標準選項)。因此在加入該欄位之前,先辦認可能的問題並要求維護者研究它。
套件變更名稱或被包入其他套件時,就可合理地使用此欄位。這種情況也發生在維護者從相同的原始碼套件的執行套件中分離出檔案:被取代的檔案不再屬於舊的套件,祗屬於新的套件。
已安裝套件內的所有檔案都被取代後,就該移除此套件。最後,此欄位亦鼓勵 dpkg 移除衝突的被取代套件。

5.2.2. 組態腳本

除了 control 檔案,給 Debian 套件使用的 control.tar.gz 也有若干腳本,在處理套件的各階段由 dpkg 啟用。Debian 政策詳細說明可能的個案,指出他們可能接收的腳本與參數。這些程序可能極為複雜,可能多個腳本同時失敗,dpkg 將取消安裝或移除 (祗要可能的話) 以返回前個滿意的階段。
一般情況下,先執行 preinst 腳本,再安裝套件,然後執行 postinst。同樣的,先執行 prerm 腳本,再移除套件,然後執行 postrm。更新套件就是先移除前個版本再安裝新的版本。沒辦法在這裡詳述所有可能發生的場景,但可以討論兩個最常發生的:安裝/更新與移除。

5.2.2.1. 安裝與升級

安裝 (或升級) 時候發生的事:
  1. 升級時,dpkg 叫用 old-prerm upgrade 新版本.
  2. 還是在升級時候,dpkg 執行 new-preinst upgrade 舊版本;第一次安裝時,它執行 new-preinst install。若已經安裝或移除該套件 (但未合併,仍保留組態檔案),可能在舊版本加入最新的參數。
  3. 解開新的套件。取代已存在的檔案,但暫時備份舊檔案。
  4. 升級時,dpkg 執行 old-postrm upgrade 新版本.
  5. dpkg 升級所有的內部資料 (檔案清單、組態腳本等) 並且移除被取代檔案的備份。這是臨界點:dpkg 不能再近用回復稍早狀態的元素。
  6. dpkg 將更新組態檔案,無法自動管理此工作時,要求使用者做決定。詳情在此 節 5.2.3, “校驗,組態檔案清單”
  7. 最後,dpkg 執行 new-postinst configure 舊版本組態 組態套件。

5.2.2.2. 移除套件

移除套件時發生的事:
  1. dpkg 呼叫 prerm remove.
  2. dpkg 移除套件所有檔案,但保留組態檔案與組態腳本。
  3. dpkg 執行 postrm remove。移除所有組態腳本,保留 postrm。若使用者未選擇 “清除” 選項,則工作完成。
  4. 完全清除的套件 (由 dpkg --purgedpkg -P 執行此工作),同時刪除其組態檔,以及若干複本 (*.dpkg-tmp, *.dpkg-old, *.dpkg-new) 和暫存檔案;dpkg 然後執行 postrm purge
config 腳本補充前述的 4 個腳本,套件以 debconf 取得組態用的資訊。安裝過程中,此腳本以 debconf 指令詢問使用者詳細的問題。把回應記錄在 debconf 資料庫供未來的參考。在安裝之前先由 apt 逐一執行該等腳本,歸納問題與回答。事前與事後安裝腳本可使用該等資訊回應使用者的期望。

5.2.3. 校驗,組態檔案清單

除了稍早提過的維護者腳本與控制資料外,在 Debian 套件內的 control.tar.gz 可能包括若干有趣的檔案。首先,md5sums,包括套件內所有檔案的 MD5 校驗。它的優點是允許 dpkg --verify (詳情見 節 14.3.3.1, “Auditing Packages with dpkg --verify) 檢查該等檔案在安裝後是否被修改。若此檔案不存在,dpkg 將在安裝時動態產生一個 (並且如同其他控制檔案般儲存在 dpkg 資料庫)。
conffiles 列出必須當成組態檔案處理的套件。管理員可修改組態檔案,升級套件時 dpkg 將保留這些變動。
實際上,在此情況下,dpkg 儘可能地機靈:若在兩個版本間的標準組態檔並未改變, dpkg 就什麼事也不做。但是,若檔案改變動,就會更新此檔案。有兩種可能:管理員碰觸此組態檔時,由 dpkg 自動安裝新版本;或者被管理員修改過,dpkg 將要求管理員指定安裝的版本 (修訂過的舊版本、或套件提供的新版本)。為了有助於決定,dpkg 提供 “diff” 指令顯示兩個版本的差異。若選擇保留舊版本,新版仍儲存在同個資料夾其後綴檔名為 .dpkg-dist。若選擇使用新版本,舊仍儲存在同個資料夾其後綴檔名為 .dpkg-old。另一個作為是暫時中斷 dpkg 以編輯檔案並試圖重新安裝相關的修訂 (之前被 diff 驗証的差異)。

Product SiteDocumentation Site

5.2. Package Meta-Information

The Debian package is not only an archive of files intended for installation. It is part of a larger whole, and it describes its relationship with other Debian packages (dependencies, conflicts, suggestions). It also provides scripts that enable the execution of commands at different stages in the package's lifecycle (installation, removal, upgrades). These data used by the package management tools are not part of the packaged software, but are, within the package, what is called its “meta-information” (information about other information).

5.2.1. Description: the control File

This file uses a structure similar to email headers (as defined by RFC 2822). For example, for apt, the control file looks like the following:
$ apt-cache show apt
Package: apt
Version: 0.9.7.9
Installed-Size: 3271
Maintainer: APT Development Team <deity@lists.debian.org>
Architecture: amd64
Replaces: manpages-pl (<< 20060617-3~)
Depends: libapt-pkg4.12 (>= 0.9.7.9), libc6 (>= 2.4), libgcc1 (>= 1:4.1.1), libstdc++6 (>= 4.6), debian-archive-keyring, gnupg
Suggests: aptitude | synaptic | wajig, dpkg-dev, apt-doc, xz-utils, python-apt
Conflicts: python-apt (<< 0.7.93.2~)
Description-en: commandline package manager
 This package provides commandline tools for searching and
 managing as well as querying information about packages
 as a low-level access to all features of the libapt-pkg library.
 .
 These include:
  * apt-get for retrieval of packages and information about them
    from authenticated sources and for installation, upgrade and
    removal of packages together with their dependencies
  * apt-cache for querying available information about installed
    as well as installable packages
  * apt-cdrom to use removable media as a source for packages
  * apt-config as an interface to the configuration settings
  * apt-key as an interface to manage authentication keys
Description-md5: 9fb97a88cb7383934ef963352b53b4a7
Tag: admin::package-management, hardware::storage, hardware::storage:cd,
 implemented-in::c++, interface::commandline, network::client,
 protocol::ftp, protocol::http, protocol::ipv6, role::program,
 suite::debian, use::downloading, use::searching,
 works-with::software:package
Section: admin
Priority: important
Filename: pool/main/a/apt/apt_0.9.7.9_amd64.deb
Size: 1253524
MD5sum: 00a128b2eb2b08f4ecee7fe0d7e3c1c4
SHA1: 6a271487ceee6f6d7bc4c47a8a16f49c26e4ca04
SHA256: 3bba3b15fb5ace96df052935d7069e0d21ff1f5b496510ec9d2dc939eefad104

5.2.1.1. Dependencies: the Depends Field

The dependencies are defined in the Depends field in the package header. This is a list of conditions to be met for the package to work correctly — this information is used by tools such as apt in order to install the required libraries, in their appropriate versions, that the package to be installed depends on. For each dependency, it is possible to restrict the range of versions that meet that condition. In other words, it is possible to express the fact that we need the package libc6 in a version equal to or greater than “2.3.4” (written “libc6 (>= 2.3.4)”). Version comparison operators are as follows:
  • <<: less than;
  • <=: less than or equal to;
  • =: equal to (note that “2.6.1” is not equal to “2.6.1-1”);
  • >=: greater than or equal to;
  • >>: greater than.
In a list of conditions to be met, the comma serves as a separator. It must be interpreted as a logical “and”. In conditions, the vertical bar (“|”) expresses a logical “or” (it is an inclusive “or”, not an exclusive “either/or”). Carrying greater priority than “and”, it can be used as many times as necessary. Thus, the dependency “(A or B) and C” is written A | B, C. In contrast, the expression “A or (B and C)” should be written as “(A or B) and (A or C)”, since the Depends field does not tolerate parentheses that change the order of priorities between the logical operators “or” and “and”. It would thus be written A | B, A | C.
The dependencies system is a good mechanism for guaranteeing the operation of a program, but it has another use with “meta-packages”. These are empty packages that only describe dependencies. They facilitate the installation of a consistent group of programs preselected by the meta-package maintainer; as such, apt-get install meta-package will automatically install all of these programs using the meta-package's dependencies. The gnome, kde-full and linux-image-amd64 packages are examples of meta-packages.

5.2.1.2. Conflicts: the Conflicts field

The Conflicts field indicates when a package cannot be installed simultaneously with another. The most common reasons for this are that both packages include a file of the same name, or provide the same service on the same TCP port, or would hinder each other's operation.
dpkg will refuse to install a package if it triggers a conflict with an already installed package, except if the new package specifies that it will “replace” the installed package, in which case dpkg will choose to replace the old package with the new one. apt-get always follows your instructions: if you choose to install a new package, it will automatically offer to uninstall the package that poses a problem.

5.2.1.3. Incompatibilities: the Breaks Field

The Breaks field has an effect similar to that of the Conflicts field, but with a special meaning. It signals that the installation of a package will “break” another package (or particular versions of it). In general, this incompatibility between two packages is transitory, and the Breaks relationship specifically refers to the incompatible versions.
dpkg will refuse to install a package that breaks an already installed package, and apt-get will try to resolve the problem by updating the package that would be broken to a newer version (which is assumed to be fixed and, thus, compatible again).
This type of situation may occur in the case of updates without backwards compatibility: this is the case if the new version no longer functions with the older version, and causes a malfunction in another program without making special provisions. The Breaks field prevents the user from running into these problems.

5.2.1.4. Provided Items: the Provides Field

This field introduces the very interesting concept of a “virtual package”. It has many roles, but two are of particular importance. The first role consists in using a virtual package to associate a generic service with it (the package “provides” the service). The second indicates that a package completely replaces another, and that for this purpose it can also satisfy the dependencies that the other would satisfy. It is thus possible to create a substitution package without having to use the same package name.
5.2.1.4.1. Providing a “Service”
Let us discuss the first case in greater detail with an example: all mail servers, such as postfix or sendmail are said to “provide” the mail-transport-agent virtual package. Thus, any package that needs this service to be functional (e.g. a mailing list manager, such as smartlist or sympa) simply states in its dependencies that it requires a mail-transport-agent instead of specifying a large yet incomplete list of possible solutions (e.g. postfix | sendmail | exim4 | …). Furthermore, it is useless to install two mail servers on the same machine, which is why each of these packages declares a conflict with the mail-transport-agent virtual package. The conflict with itself is ignored by the system, but this technique will prohibit the installation of two mail servers side by side.
5.2.1.4.2. Interchangeability with Another Package
The Provides field is again interesting when the content of a package is included in a larger package. For example, the libdigest-md5-perl Perl module was an optional module in Perl 5.6, and has been integrated as standard in Perl 5.8 (and later versions, such as 5.14 present in Wheezy). As such, the package perl has since version 5.8 declared Provides: libdigest-md5-perl so that the dependencies on this package are met if the user has Perl 5.8 (or newer). The libdigest-md5-perl package itself has eventually been deleted, since it no longer had any purpose when old Perl versions were removed.
Use of a Provides field in order to not break dependencies

Figure 5.1. Use of a Provides field in order to not break dependencies


This feature is very useful, since it is never possible to anticipate the vagaries of development, and it is necessary to be able to adjust to renaming, and other automatic replacement, of obsolete software.
5.2.1.4.3. Current Limitations
Virtual packages suffer from some limitations, the most significant of which being the absence of a version number. To return to the previous example, a dependency such as Depends: libdigest-md5-perl (>= 1.6), despite the presence of Perl 5.10, will never be considered as satisfied by the packaging system — while in fact it most likely is satisfied. Unaware of this, the package system chooses the least risky option, assuming that the versions do not match.

5.2.1.5. Replacing Files: The Replaces Field

The Replaces field indicates that the package contains files that are also present in another package, but that the package is legitimately entitled to replace them. Without this specification, dpkg fails, stating that it can not overwrite the files of another package (in fact, it is possible to force it to do so with the --force-overwrite option). This allows identification of potential problems and requires the maintainer to study the matter prior to choosing whether to add such a field.
The use of this field is justified when package names change or when a package is included in another. This also happens when the maintainer decides to distribute files differently among various binary packages produced from the same source package: a replaced file no longer belongs to the old package, but only to the new one.
If all of the files in an installed package have been replaced, the package is considered to be removed. Finally, this field also encourages dpkg to remove the replaced package where there is a conflict.

5.2.2. Configuration Scripts

In addition to the control file, the control.tar.gz archive for each Debian package may contain a number of scripts, called by dpkg at different stages in the processing of a package. The Debian Policy describes the possible cases in detail, specifying the scripts called and the arguments that they receive. These sequences may be complicated, since if one of the scripts fails, dpkg will try to return to a satisfactory state by canceling the installation or removal in progress (insofar as it is possible).
In general, the preinst script is executed prior to installation of the package, while the postinst follows it. Likewise, prerm is invoked before removal of a package and postrm afterwards. An update of a package is equivalent to removal of the previous version and installation of the new one. It is not possible to describe in detail all the possible scenarios here, but we will discuss the most common two: an installation/update and a removal.

5.2.2.1. Installation and Upgrade

Here is what happens during an installation (or an update):
  1. For an update, dpkg calls the old-prerm upgrade new-version.
  2. Still for an update, dpkg then executes new-preinst upgrade old-version; for a first installation, it executes new-preinst install. It may add the old version in the last parameter, if the package has already been installed and removed since (but not purged, the configuration files having been retained).
  3. The new package files are then unpacked. If a file already exists, it is replaced, but a backup copy is temporarily made.
  4. For an update, dpkg executes old-postrm upgrade new-version.
  5. dpkg updates all of the internal data (file list, configuration scripts, etc.) and removes the backups of the replaced files. This is the point of no return: dpkg no longer has access to all of the elements necessary to return to the previous state.
  6. dpkg will update the configuration files, asking the user to decide if it is unable to automatically manage this task. The details of this procedure are discussed in Section 5.2.3, “Checksums, List of Configuration Files”.
  7. Finally, dpkg configures the package by executing new-postinst configure last-version-configured.

5.2.2.2. Package Removal

Here is what happens during a package removal:
  1. dpkg calls prerm remove.
  2. dpkg removes all of the package's files, with the exception of the configuration files and configuration scripts.
  3. dpkg executes postrm remove. All of the configuration scripts, except postrm, are removed. If the user has not used the “purge” option, the process stops here.
  4. For a complete purge of the package (command issued with dpkg --purge or dpkg -P), the configuration files are also deleted, as well as a certain number of copies (*.dpkg-tmp, *.dpkg-old, *.dpkg-new) and temporary files; dpkg then executes postrm purge.
The four scripts detailed above are complemented by a config script, provided by packages using debconf to acquire information from the user for configuration. During installation, this script defines in detail the questions asked by debconf. The responses are recorded in the debconf database for future reference. The script is generally executed by apt prior to installing packages one by one in order to group all the questions and ask them all to the user at the beginning of the process. The pre- and post-installation scripts can then use this information to operate according to the user's wishes.

5.2.3. Checksums, List of Configuration Files

In addition to the maintainer scripts and control data already mentioned in the previous sections, the control.tar.gz archive of a Debian package may contain other interesting files. The first, md5sums, contains the MD5 checksums for all of the package's files. Its main advantage is that it allows a tool such as debsums (which we will study in Section 14.3.3.1, “Auditing Packages: debsums and its Limits”) to check if these files have been modified since their installation. Note that when this file doesn't exist, dpkg will generate it dynamically at installation time (and store it in the dpkg database just like other control files).
conffiles lists package files that must be handled as configuration files. Configuration files can be modified by the administrator, and dpkg will try to preserve those changes during a package update.
In effect, in this situation, dpkg behaves as intelligently as possible: if the standard configuration file has not changed between the two versions, it does nothing. If, however, the file has changed, it will try to update this file. Two cases are possible: either the administrator has not touched this configuration file, in which case dpkg automatically installs the new version; or the file has been modified, in which case dpkg asks the administrator which version they wish to use (the old one with modifications, or the new one provided with the package). To assist in making this decision, dpkg offers to display a “diff” that shows the difference between the two versions. If the user chooses to retain the old version, the new one will be stored in the same location in a file with the .dpkg-dist suffix. If the user chooses the new version, the old one is retained in a file with the .dpkg-old suffix. Another available action consists of momentarily interrupting dpkg to edit the file and attempt to re-instate the relevant modifications (previously identified with diff).