Product SiteDocumentation Site

6.2. aptitudeapt-get、與 apt 命令

APT 是個原先有圖形介面的大計畫。以包括核心應用程式的程式庫為基礎,且包括第一個前端 — 命令列指令 — apt-getapt 是 APT 的第二個命令列指令包括若干處理錯誤的 apt-get
還有很多圖形介面的延伸計襩:synapticaptitude (包括文字介面與圖形介面 — 即使尚未完成)、wajig等。最被推薦的介面 apt 是本節的範例。然而要注意 apt-getaptitude 的命令列語法極為類似。aptapt-getaptitude 還是有區別的,將詳述於下。

6.2.1. 初始化

APT 可用的套件清單可經由 apt update 更新。連線速度還不錯的話,祗需要幾秒鐘下載若干套件/來源/Translation-語系代碼 檔案,隨著 Debian 的發展愈來愈大 (在 main 區塊至少有 10 MB 的資料)。當然,從 CD-ROM 安裝則不需要任何的下載 — 在此情況下,運作速度極快。

6.2.2. 安裝與移除

有了 APT,以指令 apt install 套件apt remove 套件,就可以從系統新增或移除套件。以前述的指令,APT 將自動安裝必要的相依性或移除不需要的套件。apt purge 套件 指令可以完全移除套件 — 同時刪除組態檔。
若在 sources.list 內論及多個發行版,可以在套件內分給不同的版本。可以用 apt install 套件=版本 指定套件的版本,但需指出原始的 (穩定版測試版不穩定版) — 與 apt install 套件/發行版 — 等偏好的部份。在此命令下,祗要舊版本仍列在 sources.list 之內,就可以回到套件的舊版本 (若您知道該版本較佳). 否則可以用 snapshot.debian.org 拯救它 (見專欄 進階 舊套件版本:snapshot.debian.org)。

範例 6.3. 安裝 不穩定unstable 版的 spamassassin

# apt install spamassassin/unstable

6.2.3. 系統升級

建議使用正常的升級,因為包括最新的安全升級。升級的指令,有 apt upgradeapt-get upgradeaptitude safe-upgrade (當然是跟著 apt update 之後)。在不移除任何套件的情況下,此命令搜尋已安裝套件中可以升級的部份。換句話說,其目標是做到侵入性最小的升級。apt-getaptitudeapt 有更多的需求,因為拒絕安裝不曾安裝過的套件。
apt 會選擇最新的版本號 (除了來自 實驗版穩定反向植入版,其預設忽略版本號)。若指定 測試版不穩定版sources.list 內,則 apt upgrade 會把 穩定版 系統切換至 測試版不穩定版,這些都不是您要的。
搜尋升級的套件時需把特定的發行版告知 apt,採用 -t--target-release 選項,然後是發行版的名稱 (如:apt -t stable upgrade)。為了避免每次使用 apt 都需指定版本,可以把, you can add APT::Default-Release "stable"; 加在 /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/local 之內。
重要的升級,諸如 Debian 的主要版本升級,需使用 apt full-upgrade。在此指令內, 即使刪除若干老舊的套件或安裝新的相依性也會把 apt 完全升級。也是每日於T Debian 不穩定版 使用的命令以及逐日追蹤其變動。它的運作極簡單不需說明:APT 的名聲來自其功能性。
不同於 aptaptitudeapt-get 不知道 full-upgrade 命令。反而,您應使用 apt-get dist-upgrade (”升級發行版”),此古老且知名的命令也被 aptaptitude 接受給讀者相當的便利。

6.2.4. 組態選項

除了已提及的組態細目,還可在 /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/ 資料夾內增加 APT 的其他組態。讓 APT 告知 dpkg 忽略由 DPkg::options { "--force-overwrite"; } 引發的錯誤。
若祗能經由代理伺服器近用網頁,新增像這樣的一列 Acquire::http::proxy "http://yourproxy:3128"。對 FTP 代理伺服器,用 Acquire::ftp::proxy "ftp://yourproxy"。更多的組態選項,參考 apt.conf(5) 手冊頁以 man apt.conf 命令 (手刪的詳情,見 節 7.1.1, “手冊頁面”) 查看。

6.2.5. 管理套件優先性

組態 APT 最重要的層面之一是管理每個套件來源的優先性。例如,從 測試版不穩定實驗版 中選取一個或多個套件。可以指令每個套件的優先性 (視其版本或發行版,同個套件可以有多個優先性)。這些優先性將影響 APT 的行為:每個套件總是選擇最優先的版本 (除非舊於已安裝的版本或優先性小於 1000)。
APT 設定若干預設的優先性。已安裝套件版本的優先性是 100。未安裝版本預設優先性為 500,若是另個釋出的目標則可跳至 990 (以 -t 命令列選項或 APT::Default-Release 組態指令調整)。
/etc/apt/preferences 檔案內新增款目的方式,指名受影響套件名稱、版本、出處及其新的優先性。
APT 永遠不會安裝舊版的套件 (就是套件的版本編號小於已安裝的套件),除非其優先性高於 1000。APT 總是安裝優先性最高的套件。若兩個套件的優先性相同,APT 安裝最新的 (其版本編號較高)。若同版本的兩個套件優先性相同但內容不同,APT 安裝還沒有安裝的版本 (包括沒有遞增修訂編號的套件,通常是需要的)。
更具體地說,永遠不會安裝優先性小於 0 的套件。沒有安裝其他版本時,將安裝優先性在 0 與 100 之間的套件。其他發行版沒有更新版本或可用的版本時,安裝優先性在 100 與 500 之間的套件。在目標發行版內沒有更新的版本時,安裝優先性在 501 與 990 之間的套件。已安裝的版本不是更新時,安裝優先性在 990 與 1000 之間的套件。即使使強迫 APT 降級也要安裝優先性高於greater than 1000 的套件。
APT 檢查 /etc/apt/preferences 時,首先考量最精確的款目 (通常是指定的套件),然後是較通用的 (包括發行版內的所有套件)。存在多個通用款目時,選用第一個。可用的選項包括套件名稱及其原始檔。每個套件來源包括 釋出 檔案,由 APT 與 套件 檔案同時下載。指定來源 (通常 “Debian” 的官方鏡射站套件,但也可以是個人的或機構的第三方典藏所)。給予發行版名稱 (通常是 Debian 提供標準發行版內的 穩定版測試版不穩定版實驗版) 及其版本 ( 8 就是 Debian 的 Jessie)。接著以實例檢視其語法。
暫時假設您祗需用到 Debian 穩定版的套件。除非特別指明,不會安裝其他版本的套件。可以在 /etc/apt/preferences 檔案內寫入以上的款目:
Package: *
Pin: release a=stable
Pin-Priority: 900

Package: *
Pin: release o=Debian
Pin-Priority: -10
a=stable 設定發行版的名稱。o=Debian 限制來自 “Debian” 的套件。
假設若干伺服器內的程式使用 Perl 5.14 且不希望被升級為其他版本。您需用到此款目:
Package: perl
Pin: version 5.14*
Pin-Priority: 1001
此組態檔的參考文件在手冊的 apt_preferences(5),以 man apt_preferences 命令就可看到。

6.2.6. 在多個發行版工作

apt 是很奇妙的工具,可從其他發行版提取套件。例如,安裝 穩定版 系統之後,或許想要在不偏離系統原來狀態下,試試 測試版不穩定版 的套件。
混用不同版本套件出問題時,Even if you will occasionally encounter problems while mixing packages from different distributions, apt 可以處理得極為恰當把風險降到最低。最好的方法是把所有的發行版置於 /etc/apt/sources.list 檔案內 (某些人總是置入三個發行版,不過還是要記得 不穩定版 是有經驗使用者的專屬。) 且在 APT::Default-Release 參數中設定偏好的發行版 (見 節 6.2.3, “系統升級”) 。
假設 穩定版 是您的參考版本,但是 測試版不穩定版 也列在 sources.list 檔案內。在這個情況下,您可使用 apt install 套件名稱/testing 安裝來自 測試版 的套件。若因相依性未滿足而安裝失敗,可以在 測試版 內加入 -t testing 參數。同樣的方式也適用於 不穩定版
在此情況下,除了已經被其他發行版升級之外,升級 (upgradefull-upgrade) 祗在 穩定版 內完成:其他的升級在各自的發行版內處理。稍後以 APT 預設的優先性說明此行為。請使用 apt-cache policy (見專欄 秘訣 apt-cache policy) 檢視指定的優先性。
每件事都圍繞在 APT 祗處理高於或等於已安裝版本號套件的前提下 (假設 /etc/apt/preferences 還未強迫優先性高於 1000 的某些套件)。
假設從Let's assume that you have installed version 1 of a first package from 穩定版 安裝第一個套件的第一版且從and that version 2 and 3 are available respectively in 測試版不穩定版 安裝同套件的第二版與第三版水。已安裝的版本優先性為 100 但在but the version available in 穩定版 (相同的) 優先性為 990 (因為它是目標釋出版的一部份)。在 測試版不穩定版 的套件其優先性為 500 (預設不安裝版本的優先性)。獲選者為優先性 990 的版本1。套件 “留在 穩定版 內”。
另個套件的例子,已從 測試版 安裝版本 2。版本 1 在 穩定版 且版本 3 在 不穩定版。因為優先性小於已安裝的版本,所以版本 1 (優先性為 990 — 小於 1000) 已作廢。祗剩下優先性為 500 的版本 2 與版本 3。在此情況下,APT 選擇較新的版本,即使用 不穩定版。若不要已安裝自 測試版 的套件,可以移殖至 不穩定版,必須指定來自於 不穩定版 優先性小於 500 (例如 490) 的套件。修改 /etc/apt/preferences 檔案即可:
Package: *
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 490

6.2.7. 自動追蹤已安裝的套件

apt 的必要功能之一是經由相依性追蹤已安裝的套件。這些套件稱為 “自動”,且通常包括其程式庫。
有了這些資訊後,移除套件時,套件管理者可以計算該等不再需要的自動套件 (因為沒有 “手動安裝” 套件相依於他)。apt-get autoremove 會清除該等套件。aptitudeapt 沒有這個命令:辨認之後,前者自動移除它們,而使用者不需手動執行後者命令。所有的情況下,在清除訊息中列出所有影響到的套件。
把套件標記為自動是個好習慣,不需要時就被自動移除。apt-mark auto 套件名稱 會標記該套件為自動而 apt-mark manual 套件名稱 則不標記。aptitude markautoaptitude unmarkauto 作用相同祗是功能較多 (見 節 6.4.1, “aptitude)。命令互動介面的 aptitude 也可檢視多個套件的 “自動旗標”。
自動安裝套件出現在系統內。係由於從命令列取得該等資訊,可使用 aptitude why 套件名稱 (aptapt-get 沒有類似的功能):
$ aptitude why python-debian
i   aptitude         Recommends apt-xapian-index         
i A apt-xapian-index Depends    python-debian (>= 0.1.15)

Product SiteDocumentation Site

6.2. aptitude, apt-get, and apt Commands

APT is a vast project, whose original plans included a graphical interface. It is based on a library which contains the core application, and apt-get is the first front end — command-line based — which was developed within the project. apt is a second command-line based front end provided by APT which overcomes some design mistakes of apt-get.
Numerous other graphical interfaces then appeared as external projects: synaptic, aptitude (which includes both a text mode interface and a graphical one — even if not complete yet), wajig, etc. The most recommended interface, apt, is the one that we will use in the examples given in this section. Note however that apt-get and aptitude have a very similar command line syntax. When there are major differences between apt, apt-get and aptitude, these differences will be detailed.

6.2.1. Initialization

For any work with APT, the list of available packages needs to be updated; this can be done simply through apt update. Depending on the speed of your connection, the operation can take a while since it involves downloading a certain number of Packages/Sources/Translation-language-code files, which have gradually become bigger and bigger as Debian has developed (at least 10 MB of data for the main section). Of course, installing from a CD-ROM set does not require any downloading — in this case, the operation is very fast.

6.2.2. Installing and Removing

With APT, packages can be added or removed from the system, respectively with apt install package and apt remove package. In both cases, APT will automatically install the necessary dependencies or delete the packages which depend on the package that is being removed. The apt purge package command involves a complete uninstallation — the configuration files are also deleted.
If the file sources.list mentions several distributions, it is possible to give the version of the package to install. A specific version number can be requested with apt install package=version, but indicating its distribution of origin (Stable, Testing or Unstable) — with apt install package/distribution — is usually preferred. With this command, it is possible to go back to an older version of a package (if for instance you know that it works well), provided that it is still available in one of the sources referenced by the sources.list file. Otherwise the archive can come to the rescue (see sidebar GOING FURTHER Old package versions:

Example 6.3. Installation of the unstable version of spamassassin

# apt install spamassassin/unstable

6.2.3. System Upgrade

Regular upgrades are recommended, because they include the latest security updates. To upgrade, use apt upgrade, apt-get upgrade or aptitude safe-upgrade (of course after apt update). This command looks for installed packages which can be upgraded without removing any packages. In other words, the goal is to ensure the least intrusive upgrade possible. apt-get is slightly more demanding than aptitude or apt because it will refuse to install packages which were not installed beforehand.
apt will generally select the most recent version number (except for packages from Experimental and stable-backports, which are ignored by default whatever their version number). If you specified Testing or Unstable in your sources.list, apt upgrade will switch most of your Stable system to Testing or Unstable, which might not be what you intended.
To tell apt to use a specific distribution when searching for upgraded packages, you need to use the -t or --target-release option, followed by the name of the distribution you want (for example: apt -t stable upgrade). To avoid specifying this option every time you use apt, you can add APT::Default-Release "stable"; in the file /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/local.
For more important upgrades, such as the change from one major Debian version to the next, you need to use apt full-upgrade. With this instruction, apt will complete the upgrade even if it has to remove some obsolete packages or install new dependencies. This is also the command used by users who work daily with the Debian Unstable release and follow its evolution day by day. It is so simple that it hardly needs explanation: APT's reputation is based on this great functionality.
Unlike apt and aptitude, apt-get doesn't know the full-upgrade command. Instead, you should use apt-get dist-upgrade (”distribution upgrade”), the historical and well-known command that apt and aptitude also accept for the convenience of users who got used to it.

6.2.4. Configuration Options

Besides the configuration elements already mentioned, it is possible to configure certain aspects of APT by adding directives in a file of the /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/ directory. Remember for instance that it is possible for APT to tell dpkg to ignore file conflict errors by specifying DPkg::options { "--force-overwrite"; }.
If the Web can only be accessed through a proxy, add a line like Acquire::http::proxy "http://yourproxy:3128". For an FTP proxy, write Acquire::ftp::proxy "ftp://yourproxy". To discover more configuration options, read the apt.conf(5) manual page with the man apt.conf command (for details on manual pages, see Section 7.1.1, “Manual Pages”).

6.2.5. Managing Package Priorities

One of the most important aspects in the configuration of APT is the management of the priorities associated with each package source. For instance, you might want to extend one distribution with one or two newer packages from Testing, Unstable or Experimental. It is possible to assign a priority to each available package (the same package can have several priorities depending on its version or the distribution providing it). These priorities will influence APT's behavior: for each package, it will always select the version with the highest priority (except if this version is older than the installed one and if its priority is less than 1000).
APT defines several default priorities. Each installed package version has a priority of 100. A non-installed version has a priority of 500 by default, but it can jump to 990 if it is part of the target release (defined with the -t command-line option or the APT::Default-Release configuration directive).
You can modify the priorities by adding entries in the /etc/apt/preferences file with the names of the affected packages, their version, their origin and their new priority.
APT will never install an older version of a package (that is, a package whose version number is lower than the one of the currently installed package) except if its priority is higher than 1000. APT will always install the highest priority package which follows this constraint. If two packages have the same priority, APT installs the newest one (whose version number is the highest). If two packages of same version have the same priority but differ in their content, APT installs the version that is not installed (this rule has been created to cover the case of a package update without the increment of the revision number, which is usually required).
In more concrete terms, a package whose priority is less than 0 will never be installed. A package with a priority ranging between 0 and 100 will only be installed if no other version of the package is already installed. With a priority between 100 and 500, the package will only be installed if there is no other newer version installed or available in another distribution. A package of priority between 501 and 990 will only be installed if there is no newer version installed or available in the target distribution. With a priority between 990 and 1000, the package will be installed except if the installed version is newer. A priority greater than 1000 will always lead to the installation of the package even if it forces APT to downgrade to an older version.
When APT checks /etc/apt/preferences, it first takes into account the most specific entries (often those specifying the concerned package), then the more generic ones (including for example all the packages of a distribution). If several generic entries exist, the first match is used. The available selection criteria include the package's name and the source providing it. Every package source is identified by the information contained in a Release file that APT downloads together with the Packages files. It specifies the origin (usually “Debian” for the packages of official mirrors, but it can also be a person's or an organization's name for third-party repositories). It also gives the name of the distribution (usually Stable, Testing, Unstable or Experimental for the standard distributions provided by Debian) together with its version (for example 8 for Debian Jessie). Let's have a look at its syntax through some realistic case studies of this mechanism.
Let's suppose that you only want to use packages from the stable version of Debian. Those provided in other versions should not be installed except if explicitly requested. You could write the following entries in the /etc/apt/preferences file:
Package: *
Pin: release a=stable
Pin-Priority: 900

Package: *
Pin: release o=Debian
Pin-Priority: -10
a=stable defines the name of the selected distribution. o=Debian limits the scope to packages whose origin is “Debian”.
Let's now assume that you have a server with several local programs depending on the version 5.14 of Perl and that you want to ensure that upgrades will not install another version of it. You could use this entry:
Package: perl
Pin: version 5.14*
Pin-Priority: 1001
The reference documentation for this configuration file is available in the manual page apt_preferences(5), which you can display with man apt_preferences.

6.2.6. Working with Several Distributions

apt being such a marvelous tool, it is tempting to pick packages coming from other distributions. For example, after having installed a Stable system, you might want to try out a software package available in Testing or Unstable without diverging too much from the system's initial state.
Even if you will occasionally encounter problems while mixing packages from different distributions, apt manages such coexistence very well and limits risks very effectively. The best way to proceed is to list all distributions used in /etc/apt/sources.list (some people always put the three distributions, but remember that Unstable is reserved for experienced users) and to define your reference distribution with the APT::Default-Release parameter (see Section 6.2.3, “System Upgrade”).
Let's suppose that Stable is your reference distribution but that Testing and Unstable are also listed in your sources.list file. In this case, you can use apt install package/testing to install a package from Testing. If the installation fails due to some unsatisfiable dependencies, let it solve those dependencies within Testing by adding the -t testing parameter. The same obviously applies to Unstable.
In this situation, upgrades (upgrade and full-upgrade) are done within Stable except for packages already upgraded to another distribution: those will follow updates available in the other distributions. We will explain this behavior with the help of the default priorities set by APT below. Do not hesitate to use apt-cache policy (see sidebar TIP apt-cache policy) to verify the given priorities.
Everything centers around the fact that APT only considers packages of higher or equal version than the installed one (assuming that /etc/apt/preferences has not been used to force priorities higher than 1000 for some packages).
Let's assume that you have installed version 1 of a first package from Stable and that version 2 and 3 are available respectively in Testing and Unstable. The installed version has a priority of 100 but the version available in Stable (the very same) has a priority of 990 (because it is part of the target release). Packages in Testing and Unstable have a priority of 500 (the default priority of a non-installed version). The winner is thus version 1 with a priority of 990. The package “stays in Stable”.
Let's take the example of another package whose version 2 has been installed from Testing. Version 1 is available in Stable and version 3 in Unstable. Version 1 (of priority 990 — thus lower than 1000) is discarded because it is lower than the installed version. This only leaves version 2 and 3, both of priority 500. Faced with this alternative, APT selects the newest version, the one from Unstable.If you don't want a package installed from Testing to migrate to Unstable, you have to assign a priority lower than 500 (490 for example) to packages coming from Unstable. You can modify /etc/apt/preferences to this effect:
Package: *
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 490

6.2.7. Tracking Automatically Installed Packages

One of the essential functionalities of apt is the tracking of packages installed only through dependencies. These packages are called “automatic”, and often include libraries for instance.
With this information, when packages are removed, the package managers can compute a list of automatic packages that are no longer needed (because there is no “manually installed” packages depending on them). apt-get autoremove will get rid of those packages. aptitude and apt do not have this command: the former because it removes them automatically as soon as they are identified, and the latter probably because the user should not have to manually run such a command. In all cases, the tools display a clear message listing the affected packages.
It is a good habit to mark as automatic any package that you don't need directly so that they are automatically removed when they aren't necessary anymore. apt-mark auto package will mark the given package as automatic whereas apt-mark manual package does the opposite. aptitude markauto and aptitude unmarkauto work in the same way although they offer more features for marking many packages at once (see Section 6.4.1, “aptitude). The console-based interactive interface of aptitude also makes it easy to review the “automatic flag” on many packages.
People might want to know why an automatically installed package is present on the system. To get this information from the command line, you can use aptitude why package (apt and apt-get have no similar feature):
$ aptitude why python-debian
i   aptitude         Recommends apt-xapian-index         
i A apt-xapian-index Depends    python-debian (>= 0.1.15)