Product SiteDocumentation Site

1.3. العمليات الداخلية في مشروع دبيان

نتائج مشروع دبيان النهائية الكثيرة تنشأ من عمل مطوري دبيان الخبراء ومن عمل المطورين الفردي أو الجماعي على حزم دبيان، ومن ملاحظات المستخدمين.

1.3.1. مطوّرو دبيان

مسؤوليات مطوري دبيان متنوعة: وبما أنهم أعضاء رسميون في المشروع، فلهم تأثير كبير على توجهاته. يكون مطور دبيان عموماً مسؤولاً عن حزمة واحدة على الأقل، لكنه يستطيع الانضمام إلى فرق عديدة حسب وقته المتاح ورغبته، وبالتالي يستلم مسؤوليات أكبر ضمن المشروع.
إدارة الحزم هي عملية مقننة نسبياً، توثيقها شامل أو أحياناً مقيّدة. يجب إذاً الالتزام بجميع المعايير التي تفرضها Debian Policy (سياسة دبيان). لحسن الحظ، هناك أدوات عديدة تُهوّن عمل المشرفين. وهكذا يستطيع المطور التركيز على خصائص حزمته وعلى المهام الأكثر تعقيداً، مثل تصحيح العلل.
تحدد السياسة، وهي إحدى العناصر الأساسية في مشروع دبيان، المبادئ التي تضمن كلاً من جودة الحزم والتناغم التام بين مكونات التوزيعة. وبفضل هذه السياسة يبقى دبيان متماسكاً رغم حجمه العملاق. هذه السياسة ليست منقوشة على الحجر، بل تتطور باستمرار بفضل المقترحات المطروحة على القائمة البريدية . تقبل التحسينات التي تتفق عليها جميع الأطراف المهتمة وتطبقها على النص مجموعة صغيرة من المشرفين الذين لا يتحملون أي مسؤوليات تحريرية (هم فقط يضيفون التعديلات التي يتفق عليها مطورو دبيان أعضاء القائمة البريدية السالف ذكرها). يمكنك قراءة مقترحات التحسين الحالية على نظام تبليغ العلل:
توفر السياسة تغطية معتبرة لمختلف نواحي عملية التحزيم التقنية. كما يسبب حجم المشروع أيضاً مشاكل تنظيمية؛ يعالج دستور دبيان (Debian Constitution) هذه القضايا. يحدد الدستور نظام وأساليب اتخاذ القرار. بكلمات أخرى، يحدد نظام حكم رسمي.
يُعرِّف هذا الدستور عدداً من الأدوار والمناصب، بالإضافة لمسؤوليات وصلاحيات كل واحد منها. من الجدير بالملاحظة أن مطوري دبيان يملكون دوماً السلطة النهائية في اتخاذ القرار عبر التصويت على استفتاء عام، حيث يجب الحصول على أغلبية مطلقة تبلغ ثلاثة أرباع (75%) الأصوات لإجراء التعديلات الكبيرة (كالتعديلات التي تؤثر على الوثائق المؤسِّسة). لكن المطورين ينتخبون سنوياً ”قائداً“ ليمثلهم في اللقاءات، ويضمن التنظيم الداخلي بين الفرق المختلفة. هذه الانتخابات هي فترة نقاشات محتدمة دائماً. منصب القائد هذا غير معرّف في أي مستند: يقترح المرشحون لهذا المنصب عادة تعريفهم الخاص لهذا الموقع. عملياً، تشمل أدوار القائد العمل كممثل إعلامي للمشروع، والتنسيق بين الفرق ”الداخلية“، وإرشاد المشروع بشكل عام، وذلك بما يرضي المطورين: فآراء قائد دبيان (DPL) تعكس وجهة نظر أغلبية أعضاء المشروع ضمنياً.
يتمتع القائد بسلطة حقيقية؛ فتصويته يرجح كفة التصويتات المتعادلة، ويستطيع اتخاذ أي قرار في أي موضوع لا يقع ضمن صلاحية أحد ويمكنه تفويض جزء من مسؤولياته للآخرين.
منذ ولادة المشروع، استلم القيادة إيان موردك، ثم بروس بيرنز، ثم إيان جاكسون، ثم ريتشارد آكرمان، بن كولنز، بدايل غابري، مارتن ميكلماير، براندن روبنسون، أنطوني تاونز، سام هوسيفار، ستيف ماك إنتير، ستيفانو زاتشيرولي ثم لوكاس ناسبوم.
كما يعرف الدستور أيضاً ”لجنة تقنية“. دور هذه اللجنة الرئيسي هو البت في القضايا التقنية عندما لا يصل المطورون أصحاب العلاقة إلى اتفاق فيما بينهم. فيما عدا ذلك، تلعب اللجنة دوراً استشارياً لأي مطور لا يستطيع اتخاذ قرار يقع ضمن مسؤولياته. من المهم أن تلاحظ أنهم يتدخلون فقط عندما يدعوهم أحد أطراف العلاقة إلى التدخل.
أخيراً، يُعِّرف الدستور منصب ”سكرتاريا المشروع“، المسؤول عن تنظيم الأصوات في الانتخابات المختلفة والاستفتاءات العامة.
عملية ”الاستفتاء العام“ مفصلة بالكامل في الدستور، منذ مرحلة النقاش الأولي وحتى إحصاء الأصوات الأخير. لمزيد من التفاصيل انظر:
حتى لو كان هذا الدستور يقيم قواعد الديموقراطية، إلا أن الواقع اليومي يختلف كثيراً: يتبع دبيان طبيعياً قواعد الفعلوقراطية في البرمجيات الحرة: فالذي يفعل الأشياء هو من يقرر طريقة عملها. يمكن هدر وقت طويل في الجدال حول كفاءة الأساليب المختلفة لحل مشكلة ما؛ سيكون الحل الذي يقع عليه الاختيار هو أول حل يعمل بشكل صحيح ومرضٍ... وهذا الحل هو نتيجة الوقت الذي يبذله أحد الأشخاص الفاعلين في العمل.
هذه هي الطريقة الوحيدة للترقي في الرتب: افعل شيئاً مفيداً وأظهر أن عملك جيد. تعمل العديد من فرق دبيان ”الإدارية“ بطريقة الاستقطاب المشترك (co-optation، أي أن الأعضاء الجدد ينضمون بدعوة من الأعضاء الحاليين في الفريق)، حيث يفضل المتطوعون الذين كانت لهم مساهمات فعالة وأثبتوا جدارتهم. العمل الذي تعمله هذه الفرق علني بطبيعته، وهذا يسمح للمساهمين الجدد بالمراقبة والبدء بالمساعدة دون الحاجة لأي امتيازات خاصة. لذلك يوصف دبيان غالباً ”بالميريتوقراطية meritocracy“.
تضمن هذا الطريقة الفعالة في العمل كفاءة المساهمين في فرق دبيان ”المفتاحية“. هذه الطريقة ليست مثالية طبعاً ويظهر أحياناً من يرفض أسلوب العمل هذا. قد يبدو أن اختيار المطورين المقبولين في الفرق كأنه عشوائي قليلاً، أو غير منصف. بالإضافة لذلك، يختلف تعريف الخدمة المتوقعة من هذه الفرق بين الأفراد. بالنسبة لبعض الناس، لا يمكن أبداً أن يقبلوا بالانتظار ثمانية أيام لإضافة حزمة دبيان جديدة، بينما ينتظر آخرون بصبر لثلاثة أسابيع دون أن يشتكوا. لذلك، تظهر شكاوى منتظمة تتذمر من ”جودة خدمة“ بعض الفرق.

1.3.2. الدور الفاعل للمستخدمين

قد يتساءل المرء إذا كان مناسباً أن نذكر المستخدمين بين الناس الذين يعملون ضمن مشروع دبيان، الإجابة هي نعم قطعاً: فهم يلعبون دوراً حاسماً في المشروع. بعيداً عن ”السلبية“، بعض المستخدمون يدعمون النسخ التطويرية من دبيان ويرسلون تقارير عن العلل بشكل منتظم لإظهار المشاكل. وغيرهم يتجاوز ذلك ويرسل أفكاراً لتطويرات، عبر إرسال تقرير علة مستوى خطورته ”wishlist“، أو حتى إرسال تصحيحات على الشفرة المصدرية، التي تدعى ”رقع“ (انظر الملاحظة الجانبية أساسيات الترقيع، طريق إرسال التصحيحات).
بالإضافة لذلك، يحب كثير من المستخدمين الراضين عن الخدمة التي يقدمها دبيان أن يقدموا مساهمات شخصية للمشروع. لا يملك جميع الناس خبرات برمجية كافية، ولذلك قد يختارون المساعدة في ترجمة ومراجعة الوثائق. هناك قوائم بريدية لكل لغة لتنظيم هذا العمل.
تزداد فعالية هذه الآليات حسب نشاط المستخدمين. فبدلاً من أن يكونوا مجموعة أشخاص معزولين، مستخدمون دبيان يشكلون مجتمعاً حقيقياً تحدث فيه تبدلات كثيرة. نذكر بالأخص النشاط المذهل على قائمة المستخدمين البريدية، (يتحدث فصل 7, حل المشكلات والعثور على المعلومات عنها بتفصيل أكبر).
لا يساعد المستخدمون بعضهم (وغيرهم) على حل المشاكل التقنية التي تؤثر عليهم بشكل مباشر وحسب، بل يناقشون أيضاً أفضل السبل للمساهمة في مشروع دبيان ومساعدته على المسير قدماً — وتنتج عن هذه النقاشات مقترحات لتحسينات في المشروع غالباً.
بما أن دبيان لا ينفق الأموال على أي نوع من حملات الترويج الإعلانية، يلعب مستخدموه دوراً أساسياً في انتشاره، وتزداد شهرته عبر التناقل الشفهي.
تعمل هذه الطريقة بشكل جيد جداً، بما أن معجبي دبيان حاضرون في جمع أنحاء مجتمع البرمجيات الحرة: من حفلات التثبيت (ورشات عمل يساعد فيها المستخدمون المخضرمون المبتدئين على تثبيت النظام) التي تنظمها ”مجموعات مستخدمي لينكس المحلية“ (Linux User Group، أو LUG اختصاراً)، إلى حجرات الجمعيات في المؤتمرات التقنية الكبيرة التي تهتم بلينكس، الخ.
يصنع المتطوعون إعلانات، ومنشورات، وملصقات، وغيرها من المواد الإعلامية المفيدة للمشروع، التي يتيحونها للجميع، والتي يتيحها دبيان بحرية على موقعه:

1.3.3. الفرق والمشاريع الفرعية

دبيان مُنظّم ‒منذ البداية‒ حول مبدأ الحزم المصدرية، ولكل منها مشرف خاص أو مجموعة مشرفين. ظهرت فرق عمل متعددة مع الزمن، تعمل على إدارة البنية التحتية، وإدارة المهام التي لا تتعلق بأي حزمة على وجه التحديد (ضمان الجودة، سياسة دبيان، المُثَبِّت، الخ)، آخرها سلسلة من الفرق التي تنمو حول المشاريع الفرعية.

1.3.3.1. المشاريع الفرعية الحالية

لكل واحد دبيان خاص به! المشروع الفرعي هو مجموعة من المتطوعين المهتمين بتطويع دبيان ليلائم حاجات معينة. وفيما عدا اختيار مجموعة فرعية من البرامج المخصصة لمجال معين (التعليم، الطب، إنشاء الوسائط المتعددة، الخ)، تهتم المشاريع الفرعية أيضاً بتحسين الحزم السابقة، وتحزيم البرامج الناقصة، وتعديل المُثبِّت، وإنشاء وثائق خاصة، وغيرها.
هذه مجموعة صغيرة من المشاريع الفرعية الحالية:
  • Debian-Junior (دبيان-جونيور)، من Ben Armstrong، توفر نظام دبيان جذاب وسهل الاستخدام للأطفال؛
  • Debian-Edu، من Petter Reinholdtsen، يركز على إنشاء توزيعة متخصصة للعالم الأكاديمي؛
  • Debian Med (دبيان طب)، من Andreas Tille، مخصصة للحقل الطبي؛
  • Debian-Multimedia (دبيان ملتيميديا)، التي تتعامل مع إنشاء الوسائط المتعددة؛
  • Debian-Desktop (دبيان المكتبية) التي تركز على سطح المكتب وتنظم الأعمال الفنية الخاصة بالمظهر الافتراضي؛
  • Debian GIS التي تهتم بتطبيقات نظم المعلومات الجغرافية (Geographical Inforamtion Systems) ومستخدميها؛
  • وأخيراً، Debian Accessibility، لتحسين دبيان ليوافق احتياجات ذوي الإعاقة.
ستستمر هذه القائمة بالنمو مع الزمن كما سيزيد إدراك الناس لفوائد مشاريع دبيان الفرعية. تستطيع هذه المشاريع المدعومة بالكامل ببنية دبيان التحتية المتوفرة سابقاً التركيز على العمل الذي يضيف قيمة حقيقية، دون القلق على المزامنة المستمرة مع دبيان، لأنهم أصلاً يتطورون ضمن المشروع.

1.3.3.2. الفرق الإدارية

معظم الفرق الإدارية مغلقة ولا تعين أحداً جديداً إلا عبر الاستقطاب المشترك. أفضل السبل للانضمام إلى أحدها هو مساعدة أحد الأعضاء الحاليين بذكاء، موضحاً أنك تفهم أهدافهم وأساليبهم في العمل.
ftpmasters مسؤولون عن أرشيف حزم دبيان الرسمي. يتولى هذا الفريق صيانة البرنامج الذي يستقبل الحزم التي يرسلها المطورون ويخزنها آلياً على المخدم المرجعي (ftp-master.debian.org)، بعد إجراء بعض الفحوصات.
كما يعملون أيضاً على التحقق من رخص الحزم الجديدة، حتى يتأكدوا أن دبيان يستطيع توزيعها قبل إضافتها إلى مجموعة الحزم السابقة. عندما يرغب أحد المطورين بإزالة حزمة، عليه مراسلة هذا الفريق عبر نظام تتبع العلل و”الحزمة-الكاذبة“ (pseudo-package)‏ ftp.debian.org.
فريق Debian System Administrators (مديرو نظم دبيان، DSA)‏ ()، كما هو واضح، مسؤول عن إدارة العديد من المخدمات التي يستخدمها المشروع. يضمن هذا الفريق العمل الأفضل لكل الخدمات الأساسية (DNS، وب، بريد إلكتروني، صَدَفات أوامر، الخ)، وتثبيت البرمجيات التي يطلبها مطورو دبيان، ويتخذون بكل الاحتياطات الأمنية.
يدير listmasters مخدم البريد الإلكتروني الذي يدير القوائم البريدية. ينشئ هذا الفريق القوائم الجديدة، يعالج الإرتدادات (إشعارات فشل الإرسال)، ويتابع مرشحات الرسائل الدعائية (الرسائل غير المرغوبة).
لكل خدمة فريق إدارة خاص، يتكون عموماً من المتطوعين الذين ثبتوها وجهزوها (وهم الذين برمجوا الأدوات التي توفر هذه الخدمة أغلب الأحيان). هذه هي حال نظام تتبع العلل (BTS)، ومتعقب الحزم،‏ وحال alioth.debian.org‏ (مخدم FusionForge، انظر الملاحظة الجانبية أدوات FusionForge، السكين السويسرية للتطوير التعاوني)، والخدمات المتوفرة على qa.debian.org، و lintian.debian.org، وbuildd.debian.org، وcdimage.debian.org، الخ.

1.3.3.3. فرق التطوير، فرق عابرة

بعكس الفرق الإدارية، تكون فرق التطوير مفتوحة على مصراعيها، حتى للمساهمين الخارجيين. حتى لو يكن دور دبيان إنشاء البرمجيات، إلا أن المشروع يحتاج لبعض البرامج الخاصة لتحقيق أهدافه. تستخدم هذه الأدوات طبعاً الأساليب المُجرّبة في أماكن أخرى في عالم البرمجيات الحرة، وتُطوّر تحت رخص حرة.
طوَّر دبيان بعض البرمجيات الخاصة به، لكن بعض البرامج أخذت أدواراً رئيسية وامتدت شهرتها خارج نطاق المشروع. من الأمثلة الجيدة dpkg، برنامج إدارة حزم دبيان (اسمه في الواقع اختصار للعبارة Debian PacKaGe، ويلفظ عموماً ”dee-package“)، وapt، أداة تثبيت آلية لأي حزمة دبيان، مع اعتمادياتها، وضمان تماسك النظام بعد الترقية (اسمها اختصار للعبارة Advanced Package Tool). إلا أن فرق هذه الأدوات أصغر بكثير على أي حال، بسبب الحاجة لمستوى عالٍ نسبياً في البرمجة لفهم عمليات هذا النوع من البرامج بشكل كامل.
لعل أهم فريق هو الفريق المسؤول عن برنامج تثبيت دبيان، debian-installer، فقد بذل جهوداً جبارة منذ تأسيسه في 2001. لقد احتاج الفريق لمساهمين كثر، لأن كتابة برنامج واحد يستطيع تثبيت دبيان على دزينة معماريات مختلفة ليست سهلة. لكل معمارية طريقتها الخاصة في الإقلاع ومحمّل إقلاع خاص بها. يُنظّم كل هذا العمل على القائمة البريدية ، تحت قيادة Cyril Brulebois.
فريق برنامج debian-cd (الصغير جداً) له هدف معتدل أكثر لكثير: هناك مساهمين ”صغار“ كثر كل منه مسؤول عن معماريته، لأن المطور الرئيسي لا يمكن أن يُلمَّ بجميع التعقيدات الصغيرة، ولا يعرف بدقة طريقة بدء المُثبِّت من القرص الليزري على كل معمارية.
هناك عدد من الفرق تحتاج أن تتعاون مع غيرها في عملية التحزيم: تحاول مثلاً، ضمان الجودة على كل المستويات في مشروع دبيان. وتطور قائمة سياسة دبيان اعتماداً على المقترحات التي ترد من كل مكان. يُترجم كل فريق مسؤول عن معمارية ما () كل الحزم، ويعدلها بما يناسب معماريته الخاصة، إذا اقتضى الأمر.
بينما تعمل فرق أخرى على إدارة أهم الحزم حتى تضمن صيانتها دون إلقاء مسؤوليات ثقيلة جداً على الأكتاف نفسها؛ هذه حالة مكتبة C والقائمة ، ومترجم C على القائمة ، أو Xorg على (تعرف هذه المجموعة باسم X Strike Force).

Product SiteDocumentation Site

1.3. The Inner Workings of the Debian Project

The abundant end results produced by the Debian project derive simultaneously from the work on the infrastructure performed by experienced Debian developers, from the individual or collective work of developers on Debian packages, and from user feedback.

1.3.1. The Debian Developers

Debian developers have various responsibilities, and as official project members, they have great influence on the direction the project takes. A Debian developer is generally responsible for at least one package, but according to their available time and desire, they are free to become involved in numerous teams, acquiring, thus, more responsibilities within the project.
Package maintenance is a relatively regimented activity, very documented or even regulated. It must, in effect, comply with all the standards established by the Debian Policy. Fortunately, there are many tools that facilitate the maintainer's work. The developer can, thus, focus on the specifics of their package and on more complex tasks, such as squashing bugs.
The Policy, an essential element of the Debian Project, establishes the norms ensuring both the quality of the packages and perfect interoperability of the distribution. Thanks to this Policy, Debian remains consistent despite its gigantic size. This Policy is not fixed in stone, but continuously evolves thanks to proposals formulated on the mailing list. Amendments that are agreed upon by all interested parties are accepted and applied to the text by a small group of maintainers who have no editorial responsibility (they only include the modifications agreed upon by the Debian developers that are members of the above-mentioned list). You can read current amendment proposals on the bug tracking system:
The Policy provides considerable cover of the technical aspects of packaging. The size of the project also raises organizational problems; these are dealt with by the Debian Constitution, which establishes a structure and means for decision making. In other words, a formal governance system.
This constitution defines a certain number of roles and positions, plus responsibilities and authorities for each. It is particularly worth noting that Debian developers always have ultimate decision making authority by a vote of general resolution, wherein a qualified majority of three quarters (75%) of votes is required for significant alterations to be made (such as those with an impact on the Foundation Documents). However, developers annually elect a “leader” to represent them in meetings, and ensure internal coordination between varying teams. This election is always a period of intense discussions. This leader's role is not formally defined by any document: candidates for this post usually propose their own definition of the position. In practice, the leader's roles include serving as a representative to the media, coordinating between “internal” teams, and providing overall guidance to the project, within which the developers can relate: the views of the DPL are implicitly approved by the majority of project members.
Specifically, the leader has real authority; their vote resolves tie votes; they can make any decision which is not already under the authority of someone else and can delegate part of their responsibilities.
Since its inception, the project has been successively led by Ian Murdock, Bruce Perens, Ian Jackson, Wichert Akkerman, Ben Collins, Bdale Garbee, Martin Michlmayr, Branden Robinson, Anthony Towns, Sam Hocevar, Steve McIntyre, Stefano Zacchiroli and Lucas Nussbaum.
The constitution also defines a “technical committee”. This committee's essential role is to decide on technical matters when the developers involved have not reached an agreement between themselves. Otherwise, this committee plays an advisory role for any developer who fails to make a decision for which they are responsible. It is important to note that they only get involved when invited to do so by one of the parties in question.
Finally, the constitution defines the position of “project secretary”, who is in charge of the organization of votes related to the various elections and general resolutions.
The “general resolution” procedure is fully detailed in the constitution, from the initial discussion period to the final counting of votes. For further details see:
Even if this constitution establishes a semblance of democracy, the daily reality is quite different: Debian naturally follows the free software rules of the do-ocracy: the one who does things gets to decide how to do them. A lot of time can be wasted debating the respective merits of various ways to approach a problem; the chosen solution will be the first one that is both functional and satisfying… which will come out of the time that a competent person did put into it.
This is the only way to earn one's stripes: do something useful and show that one has worked well. Many Debian “administrative” teams operate by co-optation, preferring volunteers who have already effectively contributed and proved their competence. The public nature of the work of those teams makes it possible for new contributors to observe and start helping without any special privilege. This is why Debian is often described as a “meritocracy”.
This effective operational method guarantees the quality of contributors in the “key” Debian teams. This method is by no means perfect and occasionally there are those who do not accept this way of operating. The selection of developers accepted in the teams may appear a bit arbitrary, or even unfair. Furthermore, not everybody has the same definition of the service expected from these teams. For some, it is unacceptable to have to wait eight days for inclusion of a new Debian package, while others will wait patiently for three weeks without a problem. As such, there are regular complaints from the disgruntled about the “quality of service” from some teams.

1.3.2. The Active Role of Users

One might wonder if it is relevant to mention the users among those who work within the Debian project, but the answer is a definite yes: they play a critical role in the project. Far from being “passive”, some users run development versions of Debian and regularly file bug reports to indicate problems. Others go even further and submit ideas for improvements, by filing a bug report with a severity level of “wishlist”, or even submit corrections to the source code, called “patches” (see sidebar BACK TO BASICS Patch, the way to send a fix).
Additionally, numerous satisfied users of the service offered by Debian like to make a contribution of their own to the project. As not everyone has appropriate levels of expertise in programming, they may choose to assist with the translation and review of documentation. There are language-specific mailing lists to coordinate this work.
All of these contribution mechanisms are made more efficient by users' behavior. Far from being a collection of isolated persons, users are a true community within which numerous exchanges take place. We especially note the impressive activity on the user discussion mailing list, (Chapter 7, Solving Problems and Finding Relevant Information discusses this in greater detail).
Not only do users help themselves (and others) on technical issues that directly affect them, but they also discuss the best ways to contribute to the Debian project and help it move forward — discussions that frequently result in suggestions for improvements.
Since Debian does not expend funds on any self-promoting marketing campaigns, its users play an essential role in its diffusion, ensuring its fame via word-of-mouth.
This method functions quite well, since Debian fans are found at all levels of the free software community: from install parties (workshops where seasoned users assist newcomers to install the system) organized by local LUGs or “Linux User Groups”, to association booths at large tech conventions dealing with Linux, etc.
Volunteers make posters, brochures, stickers, and other useful promotional materials for the project, which they make available to everyone, and which Debian provides freely on its website:

1.3.3. Teams and Sub-Projects

Debian has been organized, right from the start, around the concept of source packages, each with its maintainer or group of maintainers. Many work teams have emerged over time, ensuring administration of the infrastructure, management of tasks not specific to any package in particular (quality assurance, Debian Policy, installer, etc.), with the latest series of teams growing up around sub-projects. Existing Debian Sub-Projects

To each their own Debian! A sub-project is a group of volunteers interested in adapting Debian to specific needs. Beyond the selection of a sub-group of programs intended for a particular domain (education, medicine, multimedia creation, etc.), sub-projects are also involved in improving existing packages, packaging missing software, adapting the installer, creating specific documentation, and more.
Here is a small selection of current sub-projects:
  • Debian-Junior, by Ben Armstrong, offering an appealing and easy to use Debian system for children;
  • Debian-Edu, by Petter Reinholdtsen, focused on the creation of a specialized distribution for the academic world;
  • Debian Med, by Andreas Tille, dedicated to the medical field;
  • Debian Multimedia which deals with audio and multimedia work;
  • Debian-Desktop which focuses on the desktop and coordinates artwork for the default theme;
  • Debian GIS which takes care of Geographical Information Systems applications and users;
  • Debian Accessibility, finally, improving Debian to match the requirements of people with disabilities.
This list will most likely continue to grow with time and improved perception of the advantages of Debian sub-projects. Fully supported by the existing Debian infrastructure, they can, in effect, focus on work with real added value, without worrying about remaining synchronized with Debian, since they are developed within the project. Administrative Teams

Most administrative teams are relatively closed and recruit only by cooptation. The best means to become a part of one is to intelligently assist the current members, demonstrating that you have understood their objectives and methods of operation.
The ftpmasters are in charge of the official archive of Debian packages. They maintain the program that receives packages sent by developers and automatically stores them, after some checks, on the reference server (
They must also verify the licenses of all new packages, in order to ensure that Debian may distribute them, prior to including them in the corpus of existing packages. When a developer wishes to remove a package, they address this team through the bug tracking system and the “pseudo-package”.
The Debian System Administrators (DSA) team (), as one might expect, is responsible for system administration of the many servers used by the project. They ensure optimal functioning of all base services (DNS, Web, e-mail, shell, etc.), install software requested by Debian developers, and take all precautions in regards to security.
The listmasters administer the e-mail server that manages the mailing lists. They create new lists, handle bounces (delivery failure notices), and maintain spam filters (unsolicited bulk e-mail).
Each specific service has its own administration team, generally composed of volunteers who have installed it (and also frequently programmed the corresponding tools themselves). This is the case of the bug tracking system (BTS), the package tracker, (FusionForge server, see sidebar TOOL FusionForge, the Swiss Army Knife of collaborative development), the services available on,,,, etc. Development Teams, Transversal Teams

Unlike administrative teams, the development teams are rather widely open, even to outside contributors. Even if Debian does not have a vocation to create software, the project needs some specific programs to meet its goals. Of course, developed under a free software license, these tools make use of methods proven elsewhere in the free software world.
Debian has developed little software of its own, but certain programs have assumed a starring role, and their fame has spread beyond the scope of the project. Good examples are dpkg, the Debian package management program (it is, in fact, an abbreviation of Debian PacKaGe, and generally pronounced as “dee-package”), and apt, a tool to automatically install any Debian package, and its dependencies, guaranteeing the consistency of the system after an upgrade (its name is an acronym for Advanced Package Tool). Their teams are, however, much smaller, since a rather high level of programming skill is required to gain an overall understanding of the operations of these types of programs.
The most important team is probably that for the Debian installation program, debian-installer, which has accomplished a work of momentous proportions since its conception in 2001. Numerous contributors were needed, since it is difficult to write a single program able to install Debian on a dozen different architectures. Each one has its own mechanism for booting and its own bootloader. All of this work is coordinated on the mailing list, under the direction of Cyril Brulebois.
The (very small) debian-cd program team has an even more modest objective. Many “small” contributors are responsible for their architecture, since the main developer can not know all the subtleties, nor the exact way to start the installer from the CD-ROM.
Many teams must collaborate with others in the activity of packaging: tries, for example, to ensure quality at all levels of the Debian project. The list develops Debian Policy according to proposals from all over the place. The teams in charge of each architecture () compile all packages, adapting them to their particular architecture, if needed.
Other teams manage the most important packages in order to ensure maintenance without placing too heavy a load on a single pair of shoulders; this is the case with the C library and , the C compiler on the list, or Xorg on the (this group is also known as the X Strike Force).